UK cyclo-cross roundup: Jody Crawforth takes National Trophy Series

Mike Groves wins final round of Wessex League

UK cyclo-cross roundup: Jody Crawforth takes National Trophy Series

After winning the National Cyclo-Cross Championship last weekend, Jody Crawforth added the National Trophy Series to his list of wins after a strong performance in the final round at Derby on Sunday.


Surrey-based Arctic-Premier RT rider Crawforth won the event at a muddy MarkeatonPark comfortably, but had previously said he would need some luck to catch up with series leader Paul Oldham (Hope Factory Racing).

That luck came in the form of a strong ride by Picarsso Pulman’s Stuart Wearmouth, who finished ahead of Oldham, leaving Crawforth tied on points with his rival.

On count-back, Crawforth’s victory on the day proved crucial and he was awarded the overall title.

Second across the line was Belgian Ben Berden, who chased hard but could not reel in Crawforth, who attacked on the opening lap and stayed clear of trouble throughout.

“I had a perfect race with no problems,” said Crawforth afterwards. “It’s great to win the series after winning the championship last week. I’m riding a local event next weekend, and then it’s the Worlds the following week, so we’ll have to see how long my form can hold up.”

While Crawforth hit the front on the opening lap, a big pile-up left many of the top names struggling to untangle their bikes and get back on their way.

“I didn’t know there was a crash,” continued Crawforth. “I was just riding my own race. It was such a muddy course that you just had to ride as hard as you could, there was no real tactics as such.

“I changed my bike every lap and the pit crew did a fantastic job. It was really muddy, and a lot of people had problems with clogging up, but I just kept going. I had my tubs really flat to give me more traction, and it all worked out well.”

Meanwhile, Science in rider Suzanne Clarke made sure of the overall series win with victory in the Derby event by more than two minutes over Isla Rowntree (Stourbridge CC), with junior Ruby Miller third.

Mike Groves wins final round of Wessex League

Wessex Cyclo-Cross League runner-up Mike Groves (Hargroves Cycles) signed off in the best possible way, winning the final round of the league by almost two minutes from his nearest rival.

Team-mate Tim Dunford’s impressive performances throughout the season meant he could not be caught, but Groves needed to make sure he finished ahead of clubmate Matt MacDonald in order to hold on to second spot overall.

With the unattached Hecl Mariah taking second, 1:46 behind, MacDonald had to settle for third spot, 2:20 behind Groves. But it has been a good series for the consistent MacDonald, who has scored points in every round.

James Thompson victorious in Sheffield

Sheffrec CC rider James Thompson lapped all but four of his rivals on the way to a convincing victory in the Sheffield Stars CSC cyclo-cross event at Graves Tennis and Leisure Centre in Sheffield on Sunday.

Thompson was 1:45 ahead of his nearest rival, Bradford RCC rival Phil Hinchcliffe, while there was more than a minute more to third-placed Robert Frier (unattached) as only the strong riders could cope with the thick mud after several days of persistent rain.



National Trophy Cyclo-Cross Series (Round six, Markeaton Park, Derby)
1 Jody Crawforth (Arctic Premier RT) 59min 05sec
2 Ben Berden (Belgium) at 44sec
3 Stuart Wearmouth (Picarsso Pulman) at 1:45
4 Paul Oldham (Hope Factory Racing) at 2:02
5 Ian Field (Hargroves Cycles) at 3:03
6 Rob Jebb (Wheelbase) at 3:16
7 Stuart Bowers (Hargroves Cycles) at 3:53
8 Scott Thwaites (Crosstrax) at 5:47
9 Lee Williams (Abergavenny RC) at 6:38
10 Mark Thwaites (Asfra Flanders) at 6:46
Under-23s: Scott Thwaites
1 Tom Moses (SSC Cyclesport) 44min 49sec
2 David Nichols (Glendene CC) at 47sec
3 Paul Young (JD Cycles) at 59sec
4 Daniel McLay (Univega) at 1:17
5 Luke Gray (Hargroves Cycles) at 1:51
6 Rob Watson (Paul Milnes RT) at 3:52
1 Suzanne Clarke (Science in 41min 42sec
2 Isla Rowntree (Stourbridge CC) at 2:10
3 Ruby Miller (unattached) at 2:49
4 Jasmine Adams-Friend (Wyre Forest CRC) at 3:50
5 Nina Davies (Ogmore Valley Wheelers) at 7:51
6 Lilly Matthews (100 Per Cent ME) at 8:23
Veteran women: Louise Day (Fat Birds CC)
1 Sam Lowe (Go Sports Spex) 33min 54sec
2 Taylor Johnstone (Team de Ver) at 14sec
3 Joshua Papworth (Wyre Forest CRC) at 16sec
4 Luke Grivell-Mellor (Mid-Shropshire Wheelers) at 56sec
5 Alistair Slater (Bourne Wheelers) at 1:55
6 Hugo Robinson (Ipswich BC) at 2:00
1 Bethany Crumpton (Halesowen A&CC)
2 Hannah Shenton (Team Chance)
3 Hannah Payton (Stourbridge CC)
Veterans: Over-40s
1 Noel Clough (Fietsen Tempo) 42min 43sec
2 Geoff Giddings (Endura-Thule) same time
3 Phil Roach (Rugby Velo) at 15sec
4 John Shaw (Zepnat RT) at 1:04
5 Chris Young (JD Cycles) at 1:30
6 Kenny Johnson (Science in at 1:32
1 Roy Hunt (Torq-Colnago) 45min 51sec
2 Peter Wilkin (Fietsen Tempo) at 43sec
3 Ian Wright (Wyre Forest CRC) at 1:43
4 Barry Kipling (MTS Cyclesport) at 3:33
5 Vic Barnett (Welland Valley CC) at 5:48
6 Joe Rowe (Wyre Forest CRC) at 5:5
Wessex Cyclo-Cross League (Ashenbury Park, Reading)
1 Mike Groves (Hargroves Cycles) 59min 51sec
2 Hecl Mariah (unattached) at 1:46
3 Matt MacDonald (Hargroves Cycles) at 2:20
4 Gary Allen (GA Cycles) at 4:01
5 Sean Williams (Offshore Sports-Wightlink RT) at 4:31
6 Steve James (Mountain Trax) at 4:54
7 William Girvan (North Hants RC) at 5:13
8 Nick Onslow (Pedal On) at 5:18
9 Andy Powell (Hargroves Cycles) at 6:12
10 Gavin Rumbles (CC Luton) at 8:51
Women: Claire Smith (Swindon RC)
Juniors: Steve James (Mountain Trax)
Veterans: Gary Allen
1 Luke Cowley (Swindon RC) 35min 30sec
2 Rob Yeatman (Oxonian CC) at 31sec
3 Ben Bailey (unattached) at 6:06
4 William Mackie (Palmer Park Velo) at 9:34
5 Connor Taylor (Swindon RC) at 1 lap
6 Jamil Gaida (Palmer Park Velo)
Under-14s: Connor Taylor
Under-14 girls: Kerrie Hutchinson (Swindon RC)
1 Jack Phillips (Chapel Tri Stars) 13min 37sec
2 Calum Mackie (Lee Valley YCC) at 38sec
3 Jacob North (HSS) at 1:15
Under-12 girls: Zoe Sheehan (Swindon RC0)
Under-10s: Michael Parry (Welwyn Wheelers)
Under-10 girls: Elizabeth Keating (Team Keyne)
Sheffield Stars CSC Cyclo-Cross (Graves Leisure Centre, Sheffield)
1 James Thompson (Sheffrec CC) 49min 40sec
2 Phil Hinchcliffe (Bradford RCC) at 1:45
3 Robert Frier (unattached) at 2:55
4 James Norton (Urbam Air) at 3:59
5 Jess Elliott (Heanor Clarion) at 4:07
6 Peter Sharkey (Matlock CC) at 1 lap
7 Paul Sleaford (Norton Wheelers)
8 John Clarke (Lincoln Wheelers)
9 Darren Unwin (Norton Wheelers)
10 Graham Paccavey (Huddersfield Star Wheelers)
Veterans: Peter Sharkey
Women: Lynn Bland (Norton Wheelers)
1 Luke Simpson (Leeds St Christophers CC)
2 Thomas Jolly (East Bradford CC) at 2:09
3 Joe Howard (Wakefield Tri Club) at 3:19
Under-14s: John Dransfield (Wakefield Tri Club)
1 Joe Parker (Crosstrax)
2 Adam Watts (Sheffield Stars CSC) at 2:45
3 Natalie Gill (Wakefield Junior Tri Club)
Girls: Natalie Gill