UK road round-up: Russell Downing wins in East Yorkshire

Dean grabs criterium title

Russell Downing

Less than 48 hours after crashing out of the National Criterium Championship, Russell Downing (Pinarello RT) proved there was no lasting damage when he sprinted to victory in the East Yorkshire Classic on Sunday.


It was Russell Downing’s sixth victory in the Premier Calendar series and all but guarantees him the title with two rounds remaining, but this win was all the more remarkable given that he did it alone and in the face of stiff opposition.

A nine rider break formed early in the 130-kilometre race based on the market town of Beverley, and while Russell was among the leaders the break also included four rivals from the Rapha Condor-Recycling squad led by his brother, Dean.

“It was good in some ways to be isolated like that, because I really had to work to get the win” said Russell afterwards. “I knew I had to thin them out, and although one dropped back the others were going nowhere.

“On the last circuit I went away with Kristian House, and he sat on my wheel for the last five miles, but I still managed to stay clear in the sprint. I jumped with 200 yards to go, and I think he knew I had the win in the bag.”

Downing and House crossed the line around 14 seconds ahead of third-placed Dean Downing, who was perhaps a little jaded after his efforts in the National Criterium Championships on Friday evening.

Dean Downing nabs crit title

Dean Downing took the win in front of a packed crowd around the marketplace, attacking alone in the closing laps and just holding off Rob Hayles (Halfords Bikehut) and Tony Gibb (Plowman Craven RT) by inches on the line.

“My form has been really good over the last few weeks with a stage win in the Sachsen Tour in Germany, so to be criterium champion has capped it all nicely,” said Dean, who last won the Criterium Championship in 2002.

“I was in a break with my team-mate Dale Appleby, and he noticed that Rob was coming across to the break. He’s going really well at the moment and didn’t want to give he chance to take control, so as soon as he caught the back of the group I attacked, and just managed to hold him off.”

Not so lucky in the Criterium Championship was Russell Downing, whose Pinarello Prince bike snapped in two after a crash. But he recovered in time for Sunday’s Premier Calendar race, where he rode to victory on his training bike.

Cook wins in North West

Former national amateur road champion David Cook (Altura RT) took victory in the Cycling Development North West Road Race at Ulverston, Cumbria, sprinting to victory ahead of FP Mailing CT rival Gary Adamson.

Cook had attacked on the last circuit of a tough course, and crossed the line nine seconds ahead of Adamson, while Dillon Byrne (Pro Bike Kit) took third, another five seconds back….



East Yorkshire Classic (Beverley, 130km)
1 Russell Downing (Pinarello RT) 4:13:30
2 Kristian House (Rapha Condor-Recycling)
3 Dean Downing (Rapha Condor-Recycling) 0:00:14
4 Robin Sharman (Sigma Sport RT) 0:00:17
5 Marcin Bialoblocki (Sports Beans-Wilier)
6 Ben Greenwood (Rapha Condor-Recycling)
7 Simon Richardson (Plowman Craven RT)
8 Peter Williams (Pinarello RT) 0:04:00
9 Matt Stephens (Sigma Sport RT)
10 Kit Gilham (Kinesis UK)
National Criterium Championship (Beverley, East Yorkshire)
1 Dean Downing (Rapha Condor-Recycling) 1:17:00
2 Rob Hayles (Halfords Bikehut)
3 Tony Gibb (Plowman Craven RT)
4 Peter Williams (Pinarello RT)
5 Ian Wilkinson (Science in
6 Simon Gaywood (Plowman Craven RT)
7 Malcolm Elliott (Pinarello RT)
8 Graham Briggs (Rapha Condor-Recycling)
9 George Atkins (Pearl Izumi)
10 Stephen Adams (Pearl Izumi)
Cycling Development North West Road Race (Ulverston, Cumbria, 104km)
1 David Cook (Altura RT) 2:28:32
2 Gary Adamson (FP Mailing CT) 0:00:09
3 Dillon Byrne (Pro Bike 0:00:14
4 Jimmy Wright (Preston Wheelers) 0:00:06
5 Anthony Allan (Macclesfield Wheelers)
6 Daniel Drake (Lancashire Road Club)
7 Mike Rudling (SP Systems-Wightlink RT) 0:00:24
8 Nathan Harrison (Lancashire Road Club) 0:03:51
9 Nathan Turnbull (Leigh Premier RC)
10 Mark Burton (Wills Wheels) 0:04:09