UK time trial round up: Hutch close to Wiggins’ 10 record

All set for battle royale in British TT championships

Michael Hutchinson is in the form of his life

After missing out on the 25-mile competition record last weekend, Michael Hutchinson (In Gear Quickvit RT) missed out on the 10-mile record by the same slim margin in East Yorkshire on Sunday.


Hutchinson was part of a full field of almost 150 riders who tackled the fast V718 course at South Cave, and despite seven riders going under the 20-minute mark the record proved agonisingly elusive.

As well as Hutchinson clocking 18min 2sec to miss out on Bradley Wiggins’ 2006 mark of 17:58, in-form UTAG Yamaha rider Julia Shaw – who has already broken the national 25, 50 and 100-mile records this season – clocked 20:15 to go within 25 seconds of Wendy Houvenaghel’s 2007 women’s record time.

The strong winds of Saturday had subsided into a gentle south westerly by the time of the event, but evidently proved just enough to stop the record falling to Hutchinson, who will be relishing the challenge of facing Wiggins in the British Time Trial Championship in Buckinghamshire next Sunday.

Similarly for Shaw (who, like Hutchinson, is coached by Jamie Pringle), the title race at Botolph Claydon will give her a chance to line up alongside Houvenaghel and see where she is at on a world stage.

Sybrandy hones form in Alton CC 25

Sigma Sport Racing Team dominated proceedings at the Alton Cycling Club 25-mile event on the H25/8 course at Bentley in Hampshire, with Wouter Sybrandy taking the overall win and leading Sigma to the team prize.

Sybrandy clocked 51:31 for the course, and was the best of four Sigma riders in the top ten of the event, which attracted a full field and was run off on a cold day, but with the winds of the previous day having subsided.

He was quickest by 33 seconds from London Dynamo’s Richard Simmonds, while Sybrandy’s team-mate Lee Turner was third with 54:13 and the winning trio in the team prize was completed by fourth-placed Niall Digby with 55:04.

Also riding well for Sigma was seventh-placed Anthony Schroeder, clocking 56:36 in his first time trial.

Morgan upsets locals in Yorkshire CF 30

For the first time in several years, a Lancashire rider won the Yorkshire Cycling Federation 30 in North Yorkshire on Sunday, with Preston Wheelers’ John Morgan returning across the Pennines with the spoils following the 2009 running of the event.

Morgan covered the on the A168 and A19 from Topcliffe to Ellerbeck in 1:03:18 to secure victory from Yorkshireman Joel Wainman by 19 seconds. Close behind Team Swift rider Wainman, another Yorkshireman came third with Paul Kaye of Pedalsport coming home almost two minutes behind worthy winner Morgan.

Berogna takes VTTA Wessex 25

Fastest by more than a minute, Wyndy Milla rider Simon Berogna won the Veterans TTA Wessex Group 25-mile event on the A27 at Fontwell in West Sussex on Sunday.

Berogna’s time of 54:11 was good enough for victory by 1:09 from Giant CC’s Michael Davy, while Ian Burgess (In Gear Quickvit RT) completed the podium, another 17 seconds adrift.

Charlton wins Manchester 25

Lyme Road Club’s in-form rider Barry Charlton secured another victory to his 2009 season with a comfortable win in the Manchester Wheelers 25-mile event at Blythe Bridge in Staffordshire.

He proved 41 seconds faster than New Brighton CC rival Andrew Allan over the J5/8 course to Uttoxeter and back, while Sheffield Triathlon Club’s Nick Sparks took third, seven seconds behind Allan.



Team Swift Charity 10 (South Cave, East Yorkshire):
1 Michael Hutchinson (In Gear Quickvit RT) 18:02
2 Nino Piccoli (API Metrow) 19:17
3 John Tuckett (AW Cycles) 19:43
4 Jeff Jones (Chippenham & District Wheelers) 19:45
5 Stu Dodd (Leisure Lakes RT) 19:49
6 Edd Charlton-Weedy ( 19:53
7 Mick St Leger (VC St Raphael) 19:59
8 Barry Charlton (Lyme RC) 20:02
9 Nick Sparks (Sheffield Tri Club) 20:08
9 Ged Millward (Otley CC) 20:08
Women and Juniors:
1 Julia Shaw (UTAG Yamaha) 20:15
2 Jack Green (Westmead Team 88) 20:19
3 Joe Moore (Lindsey Roads CC) 21:06
4 Joshua Teesdale (Westbrook Cycles) 21:09
5 David Brearley (Cottingham Coureurs) 21:40
6 Paul Anderson (Yorkshire Velo) 22:18
1 Gary Kondor & Lee Cairns (Sherwood Pines CC) 20:08
Alton CC 25 (Bentley, Hampshire):
1 Wouter Sybrandy (Sigma Sport RT) 51:31
2 Richard Simmonds (London Dynamo) 52:04
3 Lee Turner (Sigma Sport RT) 54:13
4 Niall Digby (Sigma Sport RT) 55:04
5 Mark Newton (Sydenham Wheelers) 55:41
6 John Sibley (UTAG Yamaha) 56:27
7 Anthony Schroeder (Sigma Sport RT) 56:36
8 Lee Chapman (RT 316) 57:02
9 Paul Read (Redhill CC) 57:13
10 Tom Bolton (Finsbury Park CC) 57:29
Team: Sigma Sport RT (Wouter Sybrandy, Lee Turner, Niall Digby) 2:40:48
Women: Joanne Wells (Hounslow & District Wheelers) 1:07:45
Veterans 40-49: Howard Waller (Oxford City RC) +12:50
Veterans 50-59: Greg Elliott (Hounslow & District Wheelers) +15:08
Veterans Over-60s: Richard Williams (Farnham RC) +18:50
Yorkshire Cycling Federation 30 (Topcliffe, North Yorkshire):
1 John Morgan (Preston Wheelers) 1:03:18
2 Joel Wainman (Team Swift) 1:03:37
3 Paul Kaye (Pedalsport CC) 1:05:13
4 Carl Saint (Yorkshire RC) 1:05:15
5 Andy Jackson (Pedalsport CC) 1:05:40
6 Steve Smales (Boneshakers RT) 1:05:51
7 Doug Hart (Yorkshire Velo) 1:06:11
8 Jason Young (City RC, Hull) 1:06:17
9 Garry Brown (Equipe Velo Ecosse) 1:07:18
10 Peter Greenwood (Clayton Velo) 1:07:42
Team: Yorkshire RC (Carl Saint, Ian Fairweather, John Colman) 3:24:06
Handicap: Christopher Mawer (Harrogate Nova CC) 1:00:17
Women: Julie Cook (Altura RT) 1:12:57
Veterans on std: Mike Shacklock (Otley CC) +23:17
Veterans TTA (Wessex) 25 (Fontwell, West Sussex):
1 Simon Berogna (Wyndy Milla) 54:11
2 Michael Davy (Giant CC) 55:20
3 Ian Burgess (In Gear Quickvit RT) 55:37
4 Martin Piper (Wightlink Offshore RT) 55:52
5 Jeremy Wootton (Worthing Excelsior CC) 56:34
6 Luke Myers (Team Axion) 56:53
7 James Brickell (In Gear Quickvit RT) 57:54
8 Shaun Smart (Southdown Velo) 57:43
9 Chris Lord (Brighton Excelsior) 57:35
10 Mike Valks (Sussex Nomads) 57:30
Veterans on std: Harry Featherstone (Eastbourne Rovers CC) +20:49
Women: Juliette Clark (In Gear Quickvit RT) 59:34
Tandems: Peter & Tom Baker (Lewes Wanderers CC) 54:08
Manchester Wheelers 25 (Blythe Bridge, Staffordshire):
1 Barry Charlton (Lyme RC) 51:00
2 Andrew Allan (New Brighton CC) 51:41
3 Nick Sparks (Sheffield Triathlon Club) 51:48
4 Stuart Wright (M and D Cycles) 51:57
5 Charles Taylor (South Pennine RC) 52:17
6 Steve Gore-Browne (Team Swift) 52:29
7 Paul Grindley (Liverpool Century RC) 52:34
8 Tom Yeatman (Glendene CC) 52:36
9 Jerry Cross (Manchester Wheelers) 52:43
10 Mike Cuming (Raleigh Avanti) 52:45
Veterans: Barry Charlton
Juniors: Tom Yeatman
Women: Viv Slack (Manchester Wheelers) 58:46