UK time trial round up, July 18-19

John Morgan successful in Manchester TTA 50

UK time trial roundup

Preston Wheelers’ John Morgan scored a good victory in the Manchester and District TTA 50-mile event in Cheshire on Saturday, winning by almost four minutes over the pre-race favourite.


Morgan clocked 1:51:03 in the British Best All-Rounder Series counting event which attracted 88 riders, taking victory by 3:54 from Scot Garry Brown of the Equipe-Velo Ecosse team who was the fastest man on paper and had high hopes of beating Morgan, who also pipped him to victory in the 2008 event.

The event had begun in bright and breezy conditions, but as the day progressed the rain came and almost all riders got wet at some point, with the later starters struggling through rain for much of the 50 miles.

Stu Dodd wins Cardiff 100 Miles RCC 25

Leisure Lakes RT rider Stuart Dodd powered to victory in the Cardiff 100 Miles RCC 25-mile event at Usk in Monmouthshire on Sunday, winning by 42 seconds over a quality field.

Dodd clocked 51:27 for the R25/7 course from Usk to Monmouth and back along the A449 dual carriageway, and while Bristol South CC’s Dave Keene recorded a time of 52:09, it was not enough for victory against Dodd, who looked strong throughout.

His team-mate Chris Madge took third place with 52:19, but in the absence of a third man the team prize went to the Chippenham and District Wheelers, with David Ballantyne being their third fastest man and taking that prize on the Bidlake system.

Pre-race favourite Alan Cook (Ross on Wye CC) pulled out with flu, but even he would have been hard pressed to match Dodd’s performance.

Pete Balls takes two 25s on the trot

After his victory in the Zak Carr Memorial 25 on Saturday, Pete Balls (West Suffolk Wheelers) made it a weekend double with a win in the East District CA Championship over the same distance at Tilney St Lawrence in Norfolk on Sunday.

Balls covered the course in 53:15 to win by a convincing 2:17 from Anglia Velo rival James Eman, whose time of 55:32 was a personal best, and was also 1:24 better than third-placed Angus Jardine of Ipswich BC).

Fastest woman was Emilie Fisher (Elmy Cycles RT) whose time of 1:00:58 was good enough for tenth overall.

Paul Kneen triumphs in Rob Rohrer 25 on Isle of Man

Veteran Paul Kneen took victory in the TLI Rob Rohrer Memorial 25-mile event on the Isle of Man on Sunday, the Team Manx Telecom ace being one of just two riders to go under the hour on a hilly and challenging course based around Ayre United AFC clubhouse.

Kneen clocked 59:12 to win by 24 seconds over Manx Viking Wheelers’ rival Gianni Epifani, while Ellan Vannin CC’s Andy Bell salvaged third spot with a time 1:10 slower than Epifani.

Simon Baxter wins Border City 10

Last year’s runner-up Simon Baxter sliced six seconds from his 2008 time in the Border City Wheelers 10-mile event on the L1010 at Cockermouth in Cumbria on Saturday.

The Adept Precision Racing Team rider clocked 20:54 to win by 1:21 from Symbol Signs RC’s David Lund, while 50-year-old Ian Manson (Johnstone Wheelers) was third, another three seconds behind.

The promoting club’s Carol Westmorland was fastest woman with 26:07, 58 seconds quicker than her nearest rival Wendy Thomas (VC Cumbria), while promising youngster Nathan Smedley was quickest of the juniors, the Nelson Wheelers’ rider covering the course in exactly 23 minutes to finish 11th fastest overall on the day.



Manchester and District TTA 50 (Lower Withington, Cheshire):
1 John Morgan (Preston Wheelers) 1:51:03
2 Garry Brown (Equipe-Velo Ecosse) 1:54:57
3 Paul Shallicker (Cover Your 1:56:13
4 Gordon Leicester (Warrington RC) 1:56:30
5 Neil Skellern (Congleton CC) 1:57:46
6 Jack Green (Westmead Team 88) 1:58:17
7 Steve Hargreaves (Warrington RC) 1:59:11
8 Paul Greenhalgh (ABC Centreville) 1:59:31
9 Chris Dursley (Cover Your 2:00:00
10 David Higham (Macclesfield Wheelers) 2:00:16
Team (Bidlake method): Warrington RC (Gordon Leicester, Steve Hargreaves, David Wright)
Juniors: Jack Green
Tandems: Paul & Amanda Phillipson (Withington Wheelers) 2:36:46
Women: Viv Slack (Manchester Wheelers) 2:19:28
Handicap: Dave Joynson (Kidsgrove Wheelers) (1:06:48) 1:30:35
Veterans on std: Rod Brooks (Warrington RC) (2:01:28) +42:22
Cardiff 100 Miles RCC 25 (Usk, Monmouthshire):
1 Stuart Dodd (Leisure Lakes RT) 0:51:27
2 Dave Keene (Bristol South CC) 0:52:09
3 Chris Madge (Leisure Lakes RT) 0:52:19
4 Ben Anstie (Chippenham & District Wheelers) 0:52:32
5 Darren Carpenter (Cwmcarn Paragon RC) 0:52:33
6 Richard Harris (Cwmcarn Paragon RC) 0:52:36
7 Julian Kirkpatrick (Pro Bike Kit) 0:53:06
8 Derek Rogers (Diamond 0:53:15
9 Ian Rivers (Hereford & District Wheelers) 0:53:21
10 Justyn Cannon (RAF CC) 0:53:39
Team (Bidlake method): Chippenham & District Wheelers (Ben Anstie, Simon Snowdon, David Ballantyne)
Women: Susan Shook (Bush Healthcare CRC) 0:58:49
Veterans on std: Barry Williams (Cardiff 100 Miles RCC) 0:59:47
Women veterans on std: Arja Scarsbrook (Echelon-Spiuk) 1:01:56
Juveniles: Luke Davies (Chippenham & District Wheelers) 1:04:59
East District CA Championship 25 (Tilney St Lawrence, Norfolk):
1 Pete Balls (West Suffolk Wheelers) 0:53:15
2 James Eman (Anglia Velo) 0:55:32
3 Angus Jardine (Ipswich BC) 0:56:56
4 Mark Long (King’s Lynn CC) 0:58:00
5 Jason Nixon (Kings Lynn CC) 0:58:11
6 Gary Stevens (East Anglian CC) 0:58:27
7 Stuart Howlett (King Lynn CC) 0:59:09
8 Alan Stevenson (CC Breckland) 0:59:41
9 Mike McInerney (Wisbech Wheelers) 1:00:48
10 Emilie Fisher (Elmy Cycles RT) 1:00:58
Women: Emilie Fisher
Veterans: Pete Balls
Tandems: Ron and Rebecca Taylor (Wisbech Wheelers) 1:02:16
TLI Rob Rohrer Memorial 25 (Isle of Man):
1 Paul Kneen (Team Manx Telecom) 0:59:12
2 Gianni Epifani (Manx Viking Wheelers) 0:59:36
3 Andy Bell (Ellan Vannin CC) 1:00:46
4 Darren Bell (Ellan Vannin CC) 1:01:54
5 Steve Williams (Manx Viking Wheelers0 1:02:54
6 Rob Cormode (Team Manx Telecom) 1:03:03
7 Colin Whiteway (Team Manx Telecom) 1:05:01
8 Steve Hull (Manx Viking Wheelers) 1:05:16
9 George Doyle (RL360) 1:06:54
10 Rob Quine (Ellan Vannin CC) 1:07:08
Veterans: Paul Kneen
Juveniles: George Doyle
Women: Ali Clague (Ellan Vannin CC) 1:11:31
Border City Wheelers 10 (Cockermouth, Cumbria):
1 Simon Baxter (Adept Precision RT) 0:20:54
2 David Lund (Symbol Signs RC) 0:22:17
3 Ian Manson (Johnstone Wheelers) 0:22:20
4 Carlo Berton (Border City Wheelers) 0:22:22
5 Stephen Jagger (Border City Wheelers)
6 Russ Richardson (Teesdale CRC) 0:22:31
6 Nigel Athroll (Border City Wheelers)
8 Steven Fullerton (Darlington CC) 0:22:32
9 Howard Cain (Border City Wheelers) 0:22:35
10 Richard Bickley (Border City Wheelers) 0:22:39
Juniors: Nathan Smedley (Nelson Wheelers) 0:23:00
Women: Carol Westmorland (Border City Whelers) 0:26:07
Veterans: Dave Lund