UK time trial round-up: Moores leads a close Imperial series

Christmas period could prove crucial


The festive period could prove crucial in deciding the fate of the Imperial Winter Road Racing Series, with Norwood Paragon CC’s Chris Moores taking a second and a first place to go top of the table after five races.


Moores had been a close second behind Sigma Sport rival Jerone Walters for the early rounds of the popular Hillingdon-based series, but he won the Boxing Day event to close the gap on his rival (who was second), before going on to finish second in Sunday’s fifth round, while Walters could only manage sixth.

Moores was second to talented youth rider Josh Papworth (Wyre Forest CRC) in round five, but he collected the 200 points up for grabs in the senior category. That left Moores and Walters level on 610 points, but with three wins to his name Moores now leads a close series.

The attacks came early in Saturday’s race, with Norwood Paragon’s Rudie Marais again the chief aggressor while Team Quest’s Bill Butterworth, Des Gaylor (Kenton RC), Moores and Walters were also active.

The first main break of the race came from Team Quest’s Edward Summerwell, who broke clear with Marais, but with youth rider Josh Papworth quick to respond and tag onto their wheels. Marais finally cracked, with the strong wind playing a big part in the race, leaving 15-year-old Papworth to battle on with Summerwell.

With 3km remaining, Papworth attacked, and clung on to win ahead of a charging group led in by Moores, while Joe Skelton and Martin Dawkins took third and fourth respectively after a fantastic final kilometre.

Kendros storms to victory in Hog Hill series

After suffering punctures in the previous two rounds, Dulwich Paragon CC rider Cosmo Kendros stormed back to form with victory in the latest round of the Hog Hill Winter Road Race Series.

He was one of three riders who survived until the end of a tough elite category race, with the course taking its toll on the majority of the field – which included GB ace Emma Trott (Halfords Bikehut), who chose to ride in that race rather than the women’s event for training.

After about 30 minutes, riders started to drop out of the back of the bunch, and with 15 minutes to go there were just three at the front, with Kendros being joined by Philip Murrell (Finsbury Park CC) and Mark Perry (Dulwich Paragon CC), who went on to finish second and third respectively.

Pritchard takes convincing win in ‘Winter Warmer’

Ceri Pritchard (Bush Healthcare) was a convincing winner of Ogmore Valley Wheelers’ 10-mile Christmas time trial at Resolven, dubbed JD’s Winter Warmer in the Vale of Neath.

Clocking 24min 12sec, Pritchard won the event by two minutes from the promoting club’s Chris Matthews, while his team-mate Richard Beech was third, another 31 seconds off the pace.

The Ogmore also won the team prize. It was the slowest three riders who qualified, and despite fielding three in the top 10, the promoting club still won the event with their lower-placed riders clocking a combined 1hr 28min 19sec.



Imperial Winter Road Race Series (Hillingdon Circuit, London, round four)
1 Chris Moores (Norwood Paragon CC) 1:12:40
2 Jerone Walters (Sigma Sport RT)
3 Henry Furniss (WyndyMilla)
4 Alexander King (GWR Team)
5 Felix English (Team Corridori)
6 Paul Alderson (South Western RC)
7 Michael Hill (Team Quest)
8 Will Fox (Banbury Star CC)
9 Keith Lea (Addiscombe CC)
10 Jason Streather (VC St Raphael)
Fourth cat
1 Mark Ottoway (VC Meudon)
2 Jonathan Wale (Amersham RCC)
3 William Platt (Kingston Wheelers)
4 Berj Kamtarjian (Hillingdon Triathletes)
5 Joe Harris (Reading CC)
6 Philip Keen (CC Ashwell)
Imperial Winter Road Race Series (Hillingdon Circuit, London, round five)
1 Josh Papworth (WyreForest CRC) 1:14:22
2 Chris Moores (Norwood Paragon CC)
3 Jo Skelton
4 Martin Dawkins (Team Quest)
5 Jason Streather (VC St Raphael)
6 Jerone Walters (Sigma Sport RT)
7 Paul Alderson (South Western RC)
8 Sam Grant (Beyond MTB)
9 Henry Furniss (WyndyMilla)
10 Nick Abraham
Youth: Josh Papworth
Juniors: Martin Dawkins
Women: Danielle King (I-team CC)
Fourth cat
1 Mark Edwards (Hillingdon Triathletes)
2 Dave Ryan (Imperial RT)
3 Andrew Britz (London Dynamo)
4 Joe Harris (Reading CC)
5 Simon North (Hemel Hempstead CC)
6 Jai Watson (Dulwich Paragon CC)
Hog Hill Winter Road Race Series
National B
1 Cosmo Kendros (Dulwich Paragon CC)
2 Philip Murrell (Finsbury Park CC)
3 Mark Perry (Dulwich Paragon CC)
4 Simon Bateson (East London Velo)
5 Ed Graefe (East London Velo)
6 Emma Trott (Halfords Bikehut)
Women: Ruth Middleton (VC Londres)
Regional B
1 David Barnes (East London Velo)
2 Nick Calverley (Finchley RT)
3 Michael Corke (London Dynamo)
Regional C
1 Nigel Stephens (Rapha Condor)
2 Dan Corby (Finchley RT)
3 Tim Butt (MAD)
Ogmore Valley Wheelers 10-mile time trial (Resolven, Vale of Neath)
1 Ceri Pritchard (Bush Healthcare) 0:24:12
2 Chris Matthews (OgmoreValley Wheelers) 0:02:00
3 Richard Beech (OgmoreValley Wheelers) 0:02:31
4 Cliff Voller (Newbury RC) 0:02:57
5 Gareth Reece (Tenby Aces CC) 0:03:19
6 David Hawkins (Pembrokeshire Velo) 0:04:24
7 Brian Jones (OgmoreValley Wheelers) 0:04:25
8 Paul Griffiths (Acme Wheelers) 0:04:41
9 Tanis Hand (Tenby Aces CC) 0:05:40
10 Jon Phillips (Tenby Aces CC) 0:06:27
Veterans on standard: Cliff Voller (+2.11)
Women: Tanis Hand
Team: OgmoreValley Wheelers
Tandems: Glyndwr Lewis (Maesteg CC) & Jayson James (Acme Wheelers) 0:02:01