UK Time Trial Round-up: Nik Bowdler dominant in Hampshire

Adam Duggleby takes East Yorkshire event

UK Time Trial Round-up

Reigning British best all-rounder Nik Bowdler (Farnborough and Camberley CC) proved he has kept his race fitness ticking over with a confident victory in the Farnborough and Camberley CC 10-mile time trial on the fast Bentley course in Hampshire on Sunday.


The 39-year-old from Guildford clocked 21min 17sec to win the Christmas event by 13 seconds from London Dynamo rival James Stratton.

The winner of the event in 2007 when he clocked 21:34, Bowdler sliced 17 seconds off his time from 12 months ago with a tailwind giving the riders assistance on the homeward leg of the event, which was run off on a cold but dry day.

With 78 solo riders and four tandems the event attracted a healthy entry for the time of year.

While Bowdler won and Stratton took second, RAF CC rider Justin Cannon took third place, another six seconds slower with 21:36.

Fourth spot went to Mick St Leger (VC St Raphael) with 21:38, while his wife Sally St Leger (A3CRG) also turned in a good ride, clocking 26:29 to win the women’s prize while Mick took the over-40 veterans prize.

And PCA Ciclos Uno rider Andy Page and Dean Lubin (API Metrow) teamed up to good effect to clock the fastest time of the day, winning the tandem event with exactly 21 minutes.

Poor attendance in East Yorkshire

While there was a good turnout in Hampshire for the Farnborough and Camberley CC event, numbers were not so healthy in East Yorkshire, where 26 riders failed to start from the 60 who had entered.

Ironically, the day was relatively warm and dry and those who did turn out were rewarded with reasonably good times for late December.

“The non-starters came unstuck,” said organiser Mike Williams. “Because it was a good morning for the time of year. It is a bit disappointing as an organiser when so many people don’t start. It makes you question why you’re doing it.”

Non-starters aside, the event was deservedly won by local boy Adam Duggleby, the Shorter Rochford RT rider from Gilberdyke near Hull.

He clocked 20min 32sec to win by 33 seconds from Malcolm Horner (Warrington RC), while Kettering CC’s Robert Barker also clocked 21-05 to share the spoils with Horner.

Veteran Horner had made his second trip to Yorkshire in as many weekends, and following his victory in the previous week’s Rutland CC event in South Yorkshire, he was aiming for another win on the V718 course at SouthCave.

But his plan was foiled by Duggleby, while Horner and Barker were joint second.

Meanwhile, Lincoln Wheelers’ Clare Ella was fastest of the women with 23min 24sec, and Andy Fisher (National Clarion) and Ruth Shorter (VTTA North) were best of the tandems with 20min 38sec to beat Gary Kondor and Lee Cairns by 20 seconds.



Farnborough & Camberley CC (Bentley, Hampshire, 10 miles)
1 Nik Bowdler (Farnborough & Camberley CC) 21min 17sec
2 James Stratton (London Dynamo) 21:30
3 Justin Cannon (RAF CC) 21:36
4 Mick St Leger (VC St Raphael) 21:38
5 Richard Legge (London Dynamo) 21:40
6 Gary Birch (VC Elan) 21:42
7 Colin McDermott (Festival RC) 22:06
8 Dan Sadler (Metropolitan Police CC) 22:13
9 Sam Allen (North Hampshire RC) 22:22
10 Ray Hughes (Clarence Wheelers) 22:27
Women: Sally St Leger (A3CRG) 26:29
Tandems: Andy Page (PCA Ciclos Uno) & Dean Lubin (API Metrow) 21:00
Over-40s: Mick St Leger +4-52
Over-50s: Ray Hughes +5-19
Over-60s: Reg Smith (DCB Kent) +7-48
Over-70s: John Woodburn (VC Meudon) +8-22
Team Swift (South Cave, East Yorkshire, 10 miles)
1 Adam Duggleby (Shorter Rochford RT) 20min 37sec
2 Malcolm Horner (Warrington RC) 21:05
2 Robert Barker (Kettering CC) 21:05
4 Anthony Nash (Scunthorpe Poly CC) 21:24
5 Daniel Barnett (North Notts Olympic) 21:53
6 Andrew Asquith (Bridlington CC) 21:59
7 Peter Greenwood (Clayton Velo) 22:00
8 Andrew Pengelly (VC St Raphael) 22:22
9 Tony Stott (Westbrook Cycles) 22:23
10 Derek Roe (Team Swift) 22:38
Women: Clare Ella (Lincoln Wheelers) 23:24
Veterans: Malcolm Horner
Tandems: Andy Fisher (National Clarion) & Ruth Shorter (VTTA North) 20:38