UK time trial round-up: Prebble wins East Surrey Hardriders

Jones, Bottrill, Stanton, Fargher and Bason find form in early season hillies

Richard Prebble won the East Surrey Hardriders event

The winner of the event in 1999, Richard Prebble marked the ten year anniversary of that victory with another impressive performance in the East Surrey Hardriders 29.9-mile event near Reigate on Sunday.


The Pinarello RT rider won by just two seconds from rival Pete Tadros (In Gear-Quickvit RT), and despite cold and windy conditions clocked 1hr 7min 34sec to go to within nine seconds of breaking the course record set by Matt Bottrill last year.

With Bottrill not riding, the event looked set to be a two-horse race between Prebble and 2007 winner Tadros, and so it proved, with he next nearest rider more than a minute adrift – VC Etoile’s Mike Coyle.

Despite not fielding a single rider in the top ten, Kingston Wheelers took the team prize with consistent performances from their best three riders. Ben Elliott just missed out on tenth with 1:15:39, while he was joined by Ali Cigari and Phil Ember.

Jones breaks Chippenham hilly record

While Prebble missed out on the course record in Surrey, there were no such problems for Jeff Jones in Wiltshire, the Chippenham and District Wheelers rider clocking 54min 10sec to win his own club’s hilly 24.3-mile event by 34 seconds.

The winner in 2008, Jones successfully defended his record in the event with a strong performance which left East Street Cycles rival Chris Birch – who has broken course records himself already this season – having to settle for second.

But many riders did not have such a trouble-free ride, with reports of debris and even a deer on the course. But Giant CC rider Rob Lyne came off worst than most. He was in collision with a car near the turn, and while he survived relatively unscathed his bike was not so lucky.

Bottrill triumphs in Matlock

In Derbyshire, Matt Bottrill (De Rosa RT) was a convincing winner of Matlock CC’s 25-mile event at Rowsley, his time of 1:01:30 for the hilly course being fastest by almost two and a half minutes.

South Pennine RC’s Charles Taylor was second, while Peak Road Club’s Steve Gibson was third, another 54 seconds slower.

Stanton wins Axiom Hardriders

Veteran Aran Stanton (VC St Raphael) beat 2008 winner Dave Dent to the top of the podium in the Team Axiom Hardriders 30-mile event near Wickham in Hampshire on Sunday.

Stanton clocked 1hr 8min 54sec to win comfortably from SP Wightlink RT’s Dave Dent, while his team-mate Shaun Williams was third, another 10 seconds off the pace.

The Isle of Wight duo were joined in the winning team by Martin Piper, who settled for fifth spot.

Fargher victorious in Border City Wheelers 32

It was a day for veterans across large areas of the country, with 50-year-old Gordon Fargher proving a stylish victor in the 32-mile event promoted by his own club, Border City Wheelers, at Cumdivock, Cumbria, on Saturday.

His time of 1hr 24min 31sec was 2:35 faster than second-placed Brian Payton (VC Cumbria), a mere youth at 34, while 26-year-old Richard Bickley took third place, almost five minutes behind his team-mate Fargher.

Bason and Soltys 1-2 in Wrekinsport 18

Wrekinsport CC riders dominated their club’s 18-mile event at Worfield in Shropshire, with Andy Bason taking the win with a time of 41min 6sec.

Team-mate Daniel Soltys was 20 seconds slower, while they also took the team award with ninth-placed colleague Andy Tamplin completing the trio.



East Surrey RC Hardriders (Leigh, Surrey, 29.9 miles):
1 Richard Prebble (Pinarello RT) 1:07:34
2 Pete Tadros (In Gear-Quickvit RT) 1:07:36
3 Mike Coyle (VC Etoile) 1:08:48
4 Wouter Sybrandy (Sigma Sport RT) 1:09:22
5 Richard Simmonds (London Dynamo) 1:11:00
6 Malcolm Davies (Kent Cycles RC) 1:11:42
7 Ray Hughes (Clarence Wheelers) 1:11:48
8 Paul Jones (Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers) 1:12:36
9 Niall Digby (Sigma Sport RT) 1:13:19
10 Mark Newton (Sydenham Wheelers) 1:14:16
Team: Kingston Wheelers (Ben Elliott 1:15:39, Ali Cigari 1:16:55, Phil Ember 1:16:57) 3:49:32
Veterans on standard:
1 John Woodburn (VC Meudon) 1:25:13 +15:16
2 Shay Giles (VC Elan) 1:19:17 +14:43
3 Tony Stott (Westbrook Cycles) 1:20:25 +14:17
Veterans: Richard Prebble
Veterans team on standard: Sydenham Wheelers (Mark Newton +6:08, Richard Hallett +5:17, Ed Rieu +3:54) +15:19
Women: Trudi Sammons (Reading CC) 1:21:32
Chippenham & District Wheelers (Sutton Benger, Wiltshire, 24.3 miles):
1 Jeff Jones (Chippenham & District Wheelers) 0:54:10 (course record)
2 Chris Birch (East Street Cycles) 0:54:44
3 Peter Kench (GWR Team) 0:55:30
4 Ben Anstie (Chippenham & District Wheelers) 0:55:54
5 David Kiddell (Cavalier CC) 0:56:23
6 Gavin Poupart (Echelon-SPIUK) 0:56:25
7 Chris Madge (Leisure Lakes RT) 0:56:30
8 Rob Pears (Bath CC) 0:57:45
9 Derek Smetham (Dursley RC) 0:57:49
10 David Keene (Bristol South CC) 0:57:59
Veterans: Chris Madge
Tandems: Richardson & Silver (Chippenham & District Wheelers) 0:59:51
Juniors: Fraser MacDonald (Corinium CC) 1:03:46
Women: Sarah Roberts (Gillingham & District Wheelers) 1:27:42
Matlock CC (Rowsley, Derbyshire, 25 miles):
1 Matt Bottrill (De Rosa RT) 1:01:30
2 Charles Taylor (South Pennine RC) 1:04:02
3 Steve Gibson (Peak RC) 1:04:56
4 Peter Colledge (Matlock CC) 1:06:11
5 Richard Cordin (Matlock CC) 1:06:27
6 Martin Garner (De Rosa RT) 1:07:25
7 Geoff Platts (De Rosa RT) 1:07:37
8 Chris Green (Matlock CC) 1:08:45
9 Stewart Wilson (Roy Pink Cycles RT) 1:09:33
10 Leigh Fearn (Matlock CC) 1:09:51
Veterans: Steve Gibson
Youth: Patrick Smart (Matlock CC) 1:34:40
Team: De Rosa RT (Matt Bottrill, Martin Garner, Geoff Platts) 3:16:32
Team Axiom Hardriders (Wickham, Hampshire, 30 miles):
1 Aran Stanton (VC St Raphael) 1:08:54
2 Dave Dent (SP Systems-Wightlink RT) 1:10:23
3 Shaun Williams (SP Systems-Wightlink RT) 1:10:33
4 Simon Tout (Velocity Bikes) 1:12:57
5 Martin Piper (SP Systems-Wightlink RT) 1:14:17
6 Nick Andrews (Portsmouth North End CC) 1:15:50
7 Dan Falconer (Dulwich Paragon RC) 1:18:00
8 Jerry Bromyard (RNRMCA) 1:18:33
9 Mike Marchant (Southdown Velo) 1:18:46
10 Graham Penrose (Portsmouth North End CC) 1:19:23
Team: SP Systems-Wightlink RT) 3:35:13
Women: Sarah Farmer (Team Axiom) 1:29:32
Veterans: Aran Stanton
Border City Wheelers (Cumdivock, Cumbria, 32 miles):
1 Gordon Fargher (Border City Wheelers) 1:24:31
2 Brian Payton (VC Cumbria) 1:27:06
3 Richard Bickley (Border City Wheelers) 1:29:02
4 Rob Dickinson (North Lancashire RC) 1:29:48
5 Jose Pinon-Shaw (Pro Bike Kit) 1:30:45
6 Ben Lane (VC Azzurri) 1:31:33
7 Duncan Orme (Pro Bike Kit) 1:31:39
8 Andrew Johnston (Team Swift) 1:32:12
9 Lynn Hamel (Team NCA) 1:33:28
10 Patrick Galbraith (Velo Ecosse) 1:33:38
Veterans: Gordon Fargher
Women: Lynn Hamel
Juniors: Patrick Galbraith
Wrekinsport CC Hilly (Worfield, Shropshire, 18 miles):
1 Andy Bason (Wrekinsport CC) 0:41:06
2 Daniel Soltys (Wrekinsport CC) 0:41:26
3 Dave Griffiths (Paramount CRT) 0:42:37
4 Matthew Nicholls (Wolverhampton Wheelers) 0:43:10
5 Rob Weare (Team Midland) 0:43:25
6 Tim Ashton (Royal Sutton CC) 0:43:43
7 Roger Iddles (Stourbridge Velo) 0:44:01
8 Scott Westwood (Walsall RCC) 0:44:45
9 Andy Tamplin (Wrekinsport CC) 0:44:59
10 Daniel Stevens (Liverpool Century RC) 0:45:13