UK time trial round-up: Shaw sets new women’s 25-mile record

And Hutch gets within 4 seconds of Boardman's 25 record

Julia Shaw set a new women’s national 25-mile record

Julia Shaw slashed 42 seconds off the 13-year-old women’s national 25-mile record – and Michael Hutchinson went within four seconds of the men’s record – on a super-fast day on the R25/3H course in Wales yesterday.


The Hirwaun Wheelers 25 was oversubscribed as riders from across the country came in search of fast times, and they were not disappointed with personal bests littered throughout the event.

UTAG Yamaha’s Julia Shaw made a worthwhile trip from Hampshire when she obliterated Yvonne McGregor’s 1996 record for the distance, with 42-year-old Shaw clocking 51:08.

Shaw has already broken the national 50- and 100-mile records this season, and must be a serious contender for the British Time Trial Championship next month.

Hutchinson (In Gear-Quickvit RT) clocked 46:01 and was fastest by almost four minutes. That time was just four seconds away from Chris Boardman’s 1993 record time of 45:57.

“It was a fantastic day,” said organiser Catherine Etchell. “There were lots of PBs, but we didn’t expect records to fall. The weather was overcast, we had the odd shower and the wind was in the wrong direction.

“It obviously didn’t put too many people off, and if we had put the event on the adjacent R25/3L instead I think Hutch may have got the record, because you turn off the dual carriageway down a hill, but there’s more traffic and timekeepers aren’t keen.”

Graves takes win in North Yorks

York triathlete Philip Graves proved his strength on the bike when he won the Team Swift 100-mile event in North Yorkshire on Saturday despite the event from Dishforth to Osmotherly being only his second attempt at the distance.

Riding for Clifton CC, Graves covered the distance in 3:33:56 to set a new personal best and win by 5:33 ahead of British best all-rounder Nik Bowdler (Farnborough & Camberley CC), while last year’s winner Barry Charlton, the Lyme Road Club rider from Stoke, had to settle for third this time.

“I didn’t know how I would go, because it’s a faster course than my first 100 in the nationals,” said Graves. “I didn’t have the best of days – I blew up after 75 miles and managed to cling on.

“I went through 10 miles at under 19 minutes and I looked at my heart rate monitor and it was high, so I tried to ease off. But by 50 miles it was still high, so I didn’t really do that well, despite the time.”

Holton victorious in Lancashire

Mark Holton (Shorter Rochford) proved victorious in the Wigan Wheelers’ 25 on the L2525 on the Garstang course in Lancashire, clocking 52:43.

Holton flew round the course through Broughton and Great Eccleston in warm and dry conditions, but was still 40 seconds shy of Gethin Butler’s course record.

Holton held off Jimmy Wright (Preston Wheelers) by 1:28 and also led Preston Wheelers to the team prize, while third-placed Preston CC rider Robin Brennan was another 1:05 behind.

Clean sweep for Finsbury Park CC

Finsbury Park CC secured a clean sweep of the podium in the North Middlesex and Hertfordshire CA 25 at Tempsford in Bedfordshire on Sunday.

Dave Kendall was fastest with 54:07, and he was joined in the winning team by second-placed Matt Molloy and event organiser Hugh Vivian, 55:14 and 56:00 respectively, in the winning team.

But a southerly breeze made the last 10 miles tough with just one rider – Hitchin Nomads CC’s Neil Fraser – recording an improvement of 1:38 to 58:37.

11-second lead for Ramsbottom at Crathorne

Julian Ramsbottom (I Ride RT) won Hartlepool CC’s 10-mile event at Crathorne, North Yorkshire, on Sunday. The Scunthorpe-based man was 11 seconds quicker than runner-up Richard Meadows (Velo 29), but his time of 20:45 was some way off Chris Newton’s course record of 18:59 set two years ago.



Hirwaun Wheelers 25 (Hirwaun, Wales):
Fastest 120 event
1 Michael Hutchinson (In Gear-Quickvit RT) 00:46:01
2 Jeff Jones (Chippenham & District Wheelers) 00:49:58
3 Tom Collier (Pendragon Kalas) 00:50:24
4 Mick St Leger (VC St Raphael) 00:50:44
5 Adam Topham (High Wycombe CC) 00:50:57
6 Paul Jones (Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers) 00:51:14
7 Ken Platts (Cambridge CC) 00:51:27
8 Dan Sadler (RT 316) 00:51:39
9 Stu Dodd (Leisure Lakes RT) 00:51:45
10 Alan Warburton (Leisure Lakes RT) 00:51:50
Team: Leisure Lakes RT (Stu Dodd, Alan Warburton, Charles Zanetacci 53:05) 02:36:40
Women/Juniors/Overflow Event:
1 Julia Shaw (UTAG Yamaha) 00:51:08 (competition record)
2 Chris Bates (Bynea CC) 00:51:35
3 Rod Hicks (Port Talbot Wheelers) 00:53:37
4 Dean Fuller (Camel Valley CC) 00:53:41
5 Lynne Taylor (Walsall RCC) 00:54:23
6 Michelle King (Wyre Forest CRC) 00:54:50
Team: Bynea CC (Chris Bates, John Sheehan 57:33, Mike Broadbent 58:25) 02:47:33
Tandems: Norman and Sylvia Powell (Oldbury & District CC) 01:03:56
Team Swift 100 (Dishforth, North Yorkshire):
1 Philip Graves (Clifton CC) 03:33:56
2 Nik Bowdler (Farnborough & Camberley CC) 03:39:29
3 Barry Charlton (Lyme RC) 03:41:27
4 Joel Wainman (Team Swift) 03:42:28
5 Rob Weare (Team Midland Racing) 03:43:25
6 Andy Jackson (Pedalsport) 03:45:41
7 Colin Parkinson (South Western RC) 03:46:20
8 Jonathan Shubert (Verulam CC) 03:46:35
9 Alf Hilton (Warrington RC) 03:49:26
10 Paul Kaye (Pedalsport CC) 03:51:24
Women: Lynne Taylor (Walsall Roads CC) 04:05:47
Veterans: Nik Bowdler
Wigan Wheelers 25 (Garstang, Lancashire):
1 Mark Holton (Shorter Rochford RT) 00:52:43
2 Jimmy Wright (Preston Wheelers) 00:54:11
3 Robin Brennan (Preston CC) 00:55:16
4 Steve Ludden (St Helens CRC) 00:56:06
5 Carlos Riise (Shetland Wheelers) 00:57:08
6 Paul Warrener (Rossendale RC) 00:57:45
7 Matt Stell (Preston Wheelers) 00:57:49
8 Martin Pool (Preston CC) 00:58:00
9 Robert Hurst (Southport CC) 00:58:11
10 Fraser Snape (North Lancashire RC) 00:58:54
Team: Preston Wheelers (Jimmy Wright, Matt Stell, Richard Holmes) 02:51:46
Veterans on std: Bill Lloyd (Southport CC) (1:05:32) +16:58
Women: Sharon Padley (Kent Valley RC) 01:08:14
Handicap: Vicky Holmes (Preston Wheelers) (1:17:06) 00:42:20
North Middlesex and Herts CA 25 (Tempsford, Bedfordshire):
1 Dave Kendal (Finsbury Park CC) 00:54:07
2 Matt Molloy (Finsbury Park CC) 00:55:14
3 Hugh Vivian (Finsbury Park CC) 00:56:10
4 Tim Davies (Icknield RC) 00:56:55
5 Tom Boulton (Finsbury Park CC) 00:57:38
5 Tony May (North Road CC) 00:57:38
7 Chris Lodge (Finsbury Park CC) 00:58:44
8 Neil Fraser (Hitchin Nomads CC) 00:58:47
9 Roger Queen (Icknield RC) 00:59:02
10 Ian Brazier (Verulam CC) 00:59:51
Veterans: Matt Molloy
Women: Louise Schuller (Finsbury Park CC) 01:04:23
Hartlepool CC 10 (Crathorne, North Yorkshire):
1 Julian Ramsbottom (I-Ride RT) 00:20:45
2 Richard Meadows (Velo 29) 00:20:56
3 Shaun Tyson (Adept Precision RT) 00:21:56
4 Paul Thirling (Westbrook Cycles) 00:22:16
5 Ian Fairweather (Yorkshire RC) 00:22:36
6 Simon Coates (Cleveland Wheelers) 00:22:43
Women: Matilde Matthijsse (Ferryhill Wheelers) 00:23:59
Juniors: Oliver Pearce (Ferryhill Wheelers) & Paul Anderson (Yorkshire Velo) 00:23:34
Juveniles: Joshua Teasdale (Westbrook Cycles) 00:23:02
1 Michael Ellerton (Team Swift) 00:21:07
2 Mike Harris (Northumbria Police CC) 00:22:20
3 Steve Fullerton (Darlington CC) 00:22:23
Veterans team: Hartlepool CC (Andrew Bake 23:02, Neil Foster 23:54, 3 Peter Guy 24:01) 01:10:57