UK time trial round-up: Simon Gaywood wins in Hertfordshire

Scottish season gets started

UK time trial round-up: Simon Gaywood wins in Hertfordshire

Proving his versatility in both road racing and time trialling, Simon Gaywood took victory in the North Road Hardriders on a testing course in Hertfordshire on Sunday.


The Team Corley Cycles rider clocked 58min 36sec for the 25-mile course based on roads around Brookman’s Park, giving him a winning margin of just 18 seconds over Sigma Sport RT rival Wouter Sybrandy.

Scratch rider and 2008 winner Julian Ramsbottom (De Rosa RT) had to settle for sixth spot this year with 59min 58sec, while his team-mate Matt Bottrill, who was fourth last year, stepped up to third spot and completed the podium with 59min 46sec.

Back to the usual distance after last year’s was reduced to 18 miles because of roadworks, the event attracted a classy field, with the top six riders all breaking the hour mark and being separated by little more than a minute.

While settling for third, Bottrill led De Rosa RT to the team prize alongside Ramsbottom and Scott Walker, 11th with 1:02:25, while VC Londres’ Emma Trott defended her women’s title with a time of 1:08:24.

Steve Gibson gets first win in Leicestershire

Peak Road Club stalwart Steve Gibson scored his first win of the 2009 season with victory in Coalville Wheelers’ 25-mile event at Griffydam, Leicestershire, on Saturday.

Gibson was the only rider under the hour mark for the course, which had to be altered slightly because of traffic lights on the original route. Nevertheless it still proved a challenge, with Gibson the only rider to come home under the hour mark in 59min 53sec.

Scratch man Richard Cordin (Matlock CC) had to settle for fourth spot, while Leicestershire RC’s Matt Sinclair was second with 1:00:55 and Rob Weare (Team Midland) third, another 37 seconds off the pace.

“I think we paid the price for the bad weather a couple of weeks ago,” said organiser John Doran. “Our entries were down significantly, with just 34 riders compared to a peak of 73 a couple of years ago.

“When entries closed two weeks ago, it was snowy and time trialling was the last thing people wanted to do. But it was a really good day and hopefully entries will improve for next year.”

Barry Charlton victorious in Tadcaster

Staffordshire visitor Barry Charlton scored a narrow victory in the Yorkshire Cycling Federation 10-mile event at Tadcaster, North Yorkshire, on Sunday.

The Lyme Road Club rider from Stoke clocked 20min 47sec to win by just four seconds from Philip Graves (Clifton CC), the York-based rider who was also second in the Team Swift event in East Yorkshire the weekend before.

While fellow Yorkshireman Bradley Johnston, now riding for Planet X, was third fastest, the reigning British Best All-Rounder against the clock Nik Bowdler (Farnborough and Camberley CC) was fourth, just two seconds off a podium spot.

Scottish season off to a good start

The Scottish season got off to a good start on Sunday with 86 riders turning out for the annual Ice Breaker 14-mile event at Drybridge, promoted by Fullarton Wheelers.

Warm and dry conditions made for some fast times, but none more so than winners Jim Cusick and Alan Thomson of Glasgow Couriers, who clocked 30min 49sec to win by almost a minute-and-a-half from Edinburgh RC rivals Jonny May and Ken Russell.

Aaron Stanton takes victory in Wiltshire

Aaron Stanton took victory in the Frome and District CC 10-mile event at Horningsham, Wiltshire, with the VC St Raphael rider clocking 21min 20sec.

Stanton was 29 seconds faster than runner-up Dean Robson (Somerset RC) over a course which was slightly altered due to safety concerns.

Organiser Alan Greatwood explained: “We couldn’t get the original hall as event headquarters, so we swapped the start and finish around to make it safer, otherwise riders would’ve been doing U-turns and crossing the road.”

Veteran Stanton was 4:10 faster than his standard, but the top veteran in that category was 77-year-old Jack Brown (A3CRG) whose time of 27:23 was an impressive 5:55 faster than his age standard.

Third-placed Ben Anstie led Chippenham & District Wheelers to the team prize alongside Robert Gough and Simon Snowden.


North Road CC Hardriders (Hertford, 25 miles):

1 Simon Gaywood (Team Corley Cycles) 58min 36sec
2 Wouter Sybrandy (Sigma Sport RT) 58:54
3 Matthew Bottrill (De Rosa RT) 59:20
4 Darren Barclay (Arctic-Premier RT) 59:46
5 Richard Prebble (Candi TV-Pinarello) 59:51
6 Julian Ramsbottom (De Rosa RT) 59:58
7 Danny Axford (Arctic-Premier RT) 1:00:30
8 James Perkins (Zenith CC) 1:00:32
9 Michael Broadwith (Shorter Rochford RT) 1:01:32
10 Brett Harwood (Westbrook Cycles) 1:02:24

Women: Emma Trott (VC Londres) 1:08:24.

Juniors: Tom Lackerby (De Rosa RT) 1:05:40.

Team: De Rosa RT (Matt Bottrill, Julian Ramsbottom, Scott Walker 1:02:25) 3:01:43.

Veterans on standard:

1 Richard Prebble +6:39
2 Tony Stott (Westbrook Cycles) (1:13:54) +5:01
3 Hugh Vivian (Finsbury Park CC) (1:06:17) +1:43

Coalville Wheelers (Griffydam, Leicestershire, 25 miles):

1 Steve Gibson (Peak RC) 59min 53sec
2 Matt Sinclair (Leicestershire RC) 1:00:55
3 Rob Weare (Team Midland) 1:01:32
4 Richard Cordin (Matlock CC) 1:02:25
5 Jason Rozee (Mapperley CC) 1:02:34
6 Sean Vincent (Zenith CC) 1:02:39
7 Llewellyn Byrne (Science in 1:03:42
8 Steve Sleigh (Plan B Racing) 1:03:46
9 Pete Reeves (Leicestershire RC) 1:04:42
10 S. Eadon (Mapperley CC) 1:05:14

Veterans on standard: Tony Stott (Westbrook Cycles) (1:08:22) +9:58.

Yorkshire Cycling Federation (Tadcaster, North Yorkshire, 10 miles):

1 Barry Charlton (Lyme RC) 20min 47sec
2 Philip Graves (Clifton CC) 20:51
3 Bradley Johnston (Planet X) 21:08
4 Nik Bowdler (Farnborough & Camberley CC) 21:10
5 Paul Kaye (Pedalsport CC) 22:03
6 Derek Roe (Team Swift) 22:08
7 Ian Cooke (Calder Clarion) 22:20
8 Wayne Thorpe (Team Swift) 22:32
9 Alan West (Rutland CC) 22:53
10 Andy Askwith (Bridlington CC) 23:01


1 Ian Cooke 22:20
2 Wayne Thorpe 22:32
3 Andy Askwith 23:01


1 Nigel Bennett (Meanwood Wheelers) 23:48
2 Tony Boardman (Team Swift) 24:00
3 Eric Nicholson (Rutland CC) 24:21


1 Derek Roe (Team Swift) 22:08
2 Alan West (Rutland CC) 22:53
3 Mike Shacklock (Otley CC) 24:50

Women: Clare Ella (Lincoln Wheelers) 24:02.

Fullarton Wheelers (Two-up, Drybridge, 14 miles):

1 Jim Cusick & Alan Thomson (Glasgow Couriers) 30min 49sec
2 Jonny May & Ken Russell (Edinburgh Road Club) 32:18
3 Michael Nicholson & Dougie Nicholson (Dooleys RC) 32:20
4 Keith Smith & Graeme Neagle (Glasgow Wheelers) 33:01
5 Kenny Kentley & Keiron Hay (Velo Ecosse) 33:35
6 David Millar & Raymond Johnstone (Glasgow Couriers) 33:35

Frome and District Wheelers (Horningsham, Wiltshire, 10-mile):

1 Aaron Stanton (VC St Raphael) 21:20
2 Dean Robson (Somerset RC) 21:49
3 Ben Anstie (Chippenham & District Wheelers) 21:54
4 David Kiddell (Cavalier CC) 22:23
5 Dave Keene (Bristol South CC) 22:59
6 Robert Gough (Chippenham & District Wheelers) 23:01
7 Mark Keyford (Bath CC) 23:09
8 Craig Denning (Dream CC) 23:10
9 Simon Snowden (Chippenham & District Wheelers) 23:11
10 Chas Thursfield (Dream CC) 23:32

Two-Up: Severn RC (Mark Wilkinson & Simon Howard) 22:00.

Veterans on standard: Jack Brown (A3CRG) (27:23) +5:55.


Women: Lowenna Smith (VC Walcot) 27:53.