UK time trial round-up: Tour Series winners show their versatility

Motorpoint-Marshalls Pasta victorious at national team champs

Motorpoint-Marshalls Pasta enjoyed a comfortable win in the RTTC National Team Time Trial Championships in North Yorkshire on Sunday

Tour Series winners Motorpoint-Marshalls Pasta proved just how versatile their current roster is when they secured victory in the RTTC National Team Time Trial Championships in North Yorkshire yesterday.


Andy Tennant, Ed Clancy and Steven Burke teamed up to win the event comfortably, covering the 50km course based largely on the A19 near Stokesley in 1:06:13 to take victory by 1:19.

With several Olympic, world and European medals between them, the Motorpoint riders began as favourites to take victory. And so it proved, but the event proved far from easy for them.

“It was a bit far for us at 50km, but it was nice to do something different,” said Tennant, 23, from Wolverhampton. “It was windy but not too bad. It was a headwind going out which was technical and twisty, then it was a roaring tail wind on the A19 section, then the last four or five miles was a big headwind, which wasn’t nice.

“It went pretty well. This was our first ride since the Tour Series finished. I’ve had seven clear days off the bike, so it went well given it was my first ride for a while. It was good to get the win and come away with my first RTTC medal, which is great to have.”

Second spot went to the Sigma Sport-Specialized trio of Wouter Sybrandy, Phill Sykes and Jerone Walters, whose time of 1:07:32 was just 10 seconds faster than the third-placed I Ride RT team, made up of Matt Bottrill, Adam Duggleby and Julian Ramsbottom. Bottrill and Ramsbottom were third last year and won the event in 2008, but this year had to settle for bronze again.

Strong lead for Wainman in Yorkshire

Elsewhere in North Yorkshire, Hull rider Joel Wainman won the Yorkshire Cycling Federation 50-mile time trial near Thirsk, the Team Swift-Allsports rider clocking 1:48:05 to win by almost four minutes from Huddersfield Star Wheelers’ Mark Thaxter. Veteran Neil Skellern of Congleton CC held off Yorkshire Road Club’s Ian Fairweather by two-and-a-half minutes to complete the podium.

Success for Team Pedal Revolution in Cambridgeshire

Team Pedal Revolution enjoyed a successful day at the Shaftesbury CC 50-mile event in Cambridgeshire on Saturday, taking first and third place as well as placing another rider in the top 10.

Andy Bason (Team Pedal Revolution) won the event by exactly 30 seconds from UTAG rival Julian Jenkinson. That result turned the form book on its head, with Jenkinson having finished the 2009 British Best All-Rounder Competition second, while Bason was seventh.

And to further throw the race for the 2010 BAR title open, reigning BAR champion Nik Bowdler (Team Pedal Revolution) had to settle for third, more than two minutes slower than his in-form team-mate Bason.

In the women’s event, Born 2 Bike dominated, with Lynne Taylor winning by almost seven minutes from team-mate Clare Ella, while former women’s BAR champion Carole Gandy was third, just a second behind Ella.

Dowsett smashes course record in Hampshire

Talented espoir Alex Dowsett smashed the course and event record with a superb performance in the Charlotteville CC 25-mile event on the Bentley bypass in Hampshire on Saturday.

Dowsett was expected to challenge multiple national champion Michael Hutchinson, but with the In Gear-Quickvit Trainsharp rider a non-starter, Dowsett secured a comfortable victory, clocking 47:50 to win by almost five minutes.

Veteran Nick Dwyer (Lewes Wanders CC) was happy enough with second spot with 52:40, having held off senior team-mate Rob Pelham by 1:05, while the rest of the fast men were just a matter of seconds further off the pace.

Shaw on winning form in Hampshire

National women’s 10-, 25- and 50-mile champion Julia Shaw (UTAG was eighth fastest overall in the Crabwood CC 10-mile event on the P613 course at Shipton Bellinger in Hampshire on Saturday, making the most of a warm and still day on her local roads.

Shaw clocked 20:20, and was only 28 seconds behind overall winner Stephen Whitewick, also of UTAG, who clocked 19:52 to win by seven seconds from joint runners-up Chris Long (TVS Sherborne) and Andy Plewes (Royal Navy & Royal Marines CA), who both clocked 19:59.

On a day which produced many good riders, special mention should go to 82-year-old Dennis Milsom, the Mid-Shropshire Wheelers’ rider who was best on standard, his time of 24:24 giving him a plus of 11:05.

But the Wessex Veterans TTA Championship prize went to VC Meudon’s John Woodburn, who clocked 22:26 for a plus of 10:36, just four seconds better than his nearest rival Terry Icke (Poole Wheelers).



RTTC National Team Time Trial Championship (Stokesley, North Yorkshire, 50km):
1 Motorpoint-Marshalls Pasta (Burke, Clancy, Tennant) 1:06:13
2 Sigma Sport-Specialized (Sybrandy, Sykes, Walters) 1:07:32
3 I Ride RT (Bottrill, Duggleby, Ramsbottom) 1:07:42
4 Team Raleigh (Shand, Cuming, Handley) 1:08:20
5 Adept Precision RT (Baxter, Gibson, Tyson) 1:12:11
6 Glasgow Couriers (Cusick, Sim, Thompson) 1:12:21
Yorkshire Cycling Federation (Thirsk, North Yorkshire, 50 miles):
1 Joel Wainman (Team Swift) 1:48:05
2 Mark Thaxter (Huddersfield Star Wheelers) 1:51:48
3 Neil Skellern (Congleton CC) 1:52:13
4 Ian Fairweather (Yorkshire RC) 1:54:53
5 David Thompson (Scarborough Paragon CC) 1:55:27
6 Martin Harney (Manchester Wheelers) 1:56:53
7 Rod Brooks (Warrington RC) 1:57:50
8 Brian Sunter (Condor RC) 1:57:57
9 Colin Hayes (Liverpool Century RC) 1:58:46
10 Steve Coultish (Leeds Westfield CC) 1:59:24
Veterans: Neil Skellern
Women: Racheal Mellor (Holme Valley Wheelers) 2:10:08
Shaftesbury CC (Six Mile Bottom, Cambridgeshire, 50 miles):
1 Andy Bason (Wrekinsport CC) 1:43:13
2 Julian Jenkinson (UTAG 1:43:43
3 Nik Bowdler (Team Pedal Revolution) 1:45:32
4 Carl Ruebotham (Team Swift) 1:46:05
5 Rob Weare (Leamington C&AC) 1:46:29
6 Peter Balls (West Suffolk Wheelers) 1:47:04
7 Dave Green (RAF CA) 1:47:07
8 Dave Kendall (Finsbury Park CC) 1:47:27
9 Mark Arnold (Team Pedal Revolution) 1:47:41
10 Dael Sidwell (Team Lutterworth Cycle Centre) 1:49:51
Women: Lynne Taylor (Born 2 Bike) 1:53:56
Best Improvement: Neil Barford (45 Road Club) (1:57:48) +9:22
Charlotteville CC (Bentley, Hampshire, 25 miles):
1 Alex Dowsett (Trek-Livestrong) 47:50 (course and event record)
2 Nick Dwyer (Lewes Wanderers CC) 52:40
3 Rob Pelham (Lewes Wanderers CC) 53:45
4 Gabriel Martinez (VC Meudon) 53:49
5 James Stratton (London Dynamo) 53:57
6 Rupert Burbridge (Redhill CC) 54:01
7 Mark Newton (Bec CC) 55:47
8 Paul Read (Redhill CC) 55:59
9 James Ryan (Lewes Wanderers CC) 55:59
10 Ian White (Farnham RC) 56:05
Team: Lewes Wanderers CC (Dyer, Pelham, Ryan) 2:42:24
Women: Rachel Joyce (Serpentine) 56:58
Trikes: Andrew Nye (Ashford Wheelers) 1:11:43
Tandems: Simon Hall & Lizzy Yates (Andover Wheelers) 1:02:16
Juniors: Matthew Butler (Charlotteville CC) 1:12:40
Crabwood CC (Shipton Bellinger, Hampshire, 10 miles):
1 Stephen Whitewick (UTAG 19:52
=2 Chris Long (TVS Sherborne) 19:59
=2 Andy Plewes (RNRMCA) 19:59
4 Steve Walkling (VC St Raphael) 20:00
5 Pete Vincent (Mid-Devon CC) 20:01
6 Simon Harradine (CC Topp) 20:08
7 Shaun Walsh (Yeovil CC) 20:09
8 Julia Shaw (UTAG 20:20
9 Justyn Cannon (RAF CC) 20:29
10 Douglas Fox (Crawley Wheelers) 20:36
Women: Julia Shaw
Juveniles: Tom Bowering (One Life Dev Squad) 22:01
Veterans on std: Dennis Milsom (Mid-Shropshire Wh) (24:24) +11:05
Wessex VTTA Championship: John Woodburn (VC Meudon) (22:26) +10:36