UK time trial round-up: Wainman wins Pennine 50

Dent’s big margin in Bournemouth

RIO DE JANEIRO, BRAZIL - JULY 15:  Santiago Botero of Columbia competes in the Men's Individual Time Trial Road Cycling Final during the 2007 Pan American Games at the Parque de Flemengo July 15, 2007 in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.  (Photo by Jeff Gross/Getty Images)

The Pennine CC ‘50’ has long been a major event on the Yorkshire time trial calendar, and the experienced Joel Wainman led a victory for the home county in the latest running of the classic on a Boroughbridge-based course Sunday.


Wainman, 34, who has twice been a member of the winning team in the national 50-mile championship, as well as gaining team medals at 100 miles and 12 hours, topped the leader board by the best part of a minute with his time of 1hr 48min 36sec.

The Hull rider was only 15 seconds slower than his time in this year’s national ‘50’ promoted by his own Team Swift-Allsport team on the less exposed Dishforth-Knayton course in June.

He finished with 54 seconds to spare over Yorkshire Road Club rival Carl Saint, the scratch rider in a field of almost 100 riders who had given Wainman a minute in the handicap section.

Lancashire-based Gary Brown, riding for Scottish team Equipe Velo Ecosse, who was on the same handicap mark as Wainman, was a further 1min 26sec off the pace in third place, while Matt Lunn (1-54-48) and Randle Shenton (1-57-40) completed the winning Team Swift squad.

Kendal’s Lynn Hamel (The Green Room Group), runner-up in last year’s British Best All-Rounder competition, clocked an impressive 1hr 56min 2sec to win the women’s prize.

Jubilee Wheelers 50

Dave Dent (Wightlink-Wightmountain RT) was fastest by a massive 4min 20sec margin in Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers’ 50-mile event at Lytchett Matravers today after expected rival Julian Jenkinson (UTAG-Yamaha) punctured and retired.

Nottingham Clarion 25

Former National Veterans’ Road Race Series winner Andy Eagers showed a clean pair of wheels to his youngers rivals in Nottingham Clarion’s 25-mile time trial on the Etwall course in Derbyshire.

The Derby Mercury RC rider covered the distance in 53min 36sec to finish with 44 seconds to spare over runner-up Simon Parkin (Heanor Clarion).

Rugby RCC 10

Second-season veteran Richard Bradley (Shorter Rochford RT) also put his experience to good use with a winning 20min 17sec performance in Rugby RCC’s 10-mile event on the Princethorpe course in Warwickshire, beating younger rival James Perkins (Zenith CC) by 13 seconds.

Team Cambridge 10

API-Metrow team rider Nino Piccoli salvaged a creditable 19min 55sec winning time from the Team Cambridge 10-mile event on the Bottisham course after spray caused by heavy rain forced organisers to abandon the senior solo section of the event.

Of the riders who finished, Piccoli finished with 34 seconds in hand over David Watson (Coventry RC), with Will Dorsett (North Norfolk Wheelers) a further 35seconds back.

Essex Roads CC pair Nick Hastler and Ian Randall were fastest of the tandems in 19min 21sec, with Dean Fuller (Camel Valley CC) best of the juniors and Michelle King (Wyre Forest CRC) fastest of the women.

Hemel Hempstead CC 10

Less than half a minute outside his best ‘last three seasons’ entry time, Wouter Sybrandy (Sigma Sport RT-Specialized) was fastest in Hemel Hempstead CC’s 10-mile event at Leighton Buzzard.

By comparison, runner-up Ian Ball (Hinckley CRC), the fastest man in the field on paper, went back nearly two minutes.

Gavin Atkins claimed third place for the promoting club.

Wrekinsport CC 10

Andy Bason provided a win for the promoting club in Wrekinsport CC’s 10-mile event at Hodnet, Shropshire.


Bason, seemingly untroubled by a strong wind on the tough uphill finish section, clocked 21min 14sec to beat Pete Williams (Fibrax-Wrexham RC) by a full two minutes. He now has an unassailable lead in the Shropshire Points Series.


Pennine CC
Boroughbridge, North Yorkshire, 50 miles
1 Joel Wainman (Team Swift-Allsport) 1:48:36
2 Carl Saint (Yorkshire Road Club) 1:49:30
3 Gary Brown (Equipe Velo Ecosse) 1:50:56
4 Doug Hart (Yorkshire Velo) 1:51:09
5 Neil Kirk (North Notts Olympic) 1:53:01
6 Lee Foster (Border City Wh) 1:53:50
7 Chris Yates (Otley CC) 1:53:58
8 Matt Sinclair (Leicestershire RC) 1:54:14
9 John Colman (Yorkshire Road Club) 1:54:21
10 Derek Parkinson (Cleveleys RC) 1:54:41
1 Team Swift-Allsport (Joel Wainman/Matt Lunn/Randle Shenton) 5:41:04
1 David Thompson (Scarborough Paragon RC, 18:00) 1:40:25
1 Lynn Hamel (The Green Room Group) 1:56:02
Women’s H’cap
1 Rachel Mellor (Holme Valley Wh, 21:20) 1:46:49
Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers
Lytchett Matravers, Dorset, 50 miles
1 Dave Dent (Wightlink-Wightmountain RT) 1:53:44
2 Stephen Whitewick (UTAG-Yamaha) 1:58:04
3 Dave Pickering (Bournemouth Jubilee Wh) 1:59:44
4 Terry Icke (Poole Wh) 2:00:58
5 Gary Tuskin (Poole Wh) 2:03:50
6 Andy Hopkins (Gillingham & Dist Wh) 2:04:02
7 Ian Cardy (CC Weymouth) 2:04:25
8 John Sibley (UTAG-Yamaha) 2:05:47
9 Louise Dutch (Poole Wh) 2:06:17
10 Tom Cox (Northovers VT) 2:07:20
1 Louise Dutch (Poole Wh) 2:06:17
Nottingham Clarion
Etwall, Derbyshire, 25 miles
1 Andy Eagers (Derby Mercury) 0:53:36
2 Simon Parkin (Heanor Clarion) 0:54:20
3 Gisli Jenkins (Sherwood CC) 0:55:57
4 Simon Geraci (Team Swift-Allsport) 0:56:04
5 Dean Cross (Mansfield Tri) 0:56:05
6 Norman Portess (Melton Olympic) 0:56:09
7 David Jones (Dulwich Paragon) 0:56:52
8 Sean Sligh (Plan B Racing) 0:56:41
9 Shaun Eden (Mapperley CC) 0:57:01
10 Daryl May (Sheffrec CC) 0:57:12
11 Daniel Barnett (North Notts Olympic) 0:57:12
Team Cambridge (Event abandoned)
Bottisham, Cambridgeshire, 10 miles
1 Nino Piccoli (API-Metrow) 0:19:55
2 David Watson (Coventry RC) 0:20:29
3 Will Dorsett (North Norfolk Wh) 0:21:04
1 Michelle King (Wyre Forest CRC) 0:23:07
1 Dean Fuller (Camel Valley CC) 0:22:34
1 Nick Hastler/Ian Randall (Essex RCC) 0:19:21
Rugby RCC
Princethorpe, Warwickshire, 10 miles
1 Richard Bradley (Shorter Rochford RT) 0:20:17
2 James Perkins (Zenith CC) 0:20:30
3 James Heaton (Rugby RCC) 0:20:34
4 John Morgan (Preston Wh) 0:20:37
5 Jon Simpkins (Banbury Star CC) 0:21:03
6 Al Slater (Walsall RCC) 0:21:09
7 Matthew Nicholls (Wolverhampton Wh) 0:21:37
8 Mark Heath (Echelon Cycles) 0:21:40
9 Stefan Harrison (Stourbridge CC) 0:21:43
10 Barrie Mitchell (MI Racing-EAS) 0:21:56
1 Rugby RCC (James Heaton/Craig Sterrett/Colin Stiles 1:06:01
1 Jeremy Hicks (Rugby Velo) 0:25:48
1 Isobel Fletcher (Glasgow Wh) 0:26:09
Hemel Hempstead CC
Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire, 10 miles
1 Wouter Sybrandy (Sigma Sport RT) 0:20:35
2 Ian Ball (Hinckley CRC) 0:21:43
3 Gavin Atkins (Hemel Hempstead CC) 0:21:50
4 Des Gaylor (Kenton RC) 0:22:17
5 Robert Saunders (North Bucks RC) 0:22:37
6 Ian Brazier (Verulam CC) 0:22:43
7 Phil Lisher (Team Welwyn) 0:22:50
8 Phil Murrell (Finsbury Park CC) 0:22:52
9 Richard Boley (Hemel Hempstead CC) 0:23:08
10 Russell Rowles (Spirit RT) 0:23:15
11 Tandems: Neil Bradburn (Hemel Hempstead CC) & Colin Williamson (Solihull CC) 0:20:33
Wrekinsport CC
Hodnet, Shropshire, 10 miles
1 Andy Bason (Wrekinsport CC) 0:21:14
2 Pete Williams (Fibrax-Wrexham RC) 0:23:15
3 Ged Kennedy (Wrekinsport CC) 0:23:31
4 Peter Griffin (Newport (Salop) CC) 0:23:44
5 David Williams (Fibrax-Wrexham RC) 0:23:46
6 Andy Tamplin (Wrekinsport CC) 0:23:47
7 Allan Jones (Wrekinsport CC) 0:23:52
8 Beil Coles (Oswestry Paragon) 0:23:52
9 Dave Gostelow (Wrekinsport CC) 0:23:56
10 Peter Ding (Ludlow CC) 0:24:04