UK time trialling roundup

Favourites tune up for British TT championships next week

Kevin Dawson won the Holme Valley Wheelers 50

The reigning British Best All-Rounder against the clock, Kevin Dawson showed he is still a class apart with victory in the Holme Valley Wheelers 50-mile event in North Yorkshire on Saturday.


Despite not riding a 12-hour event this season and therefore not defending the title he has won 11 times, rider Dawson cruised to victory by exactly three minutes from Port Sunlight Wheelers’ Andy Wilkinson, himself a former winner of the BBAR.

The final podium place went to Holmfirth-based Andy Jackson, the Pedalsport CC rider who used local knowledge to good effect to secure third with a time of 1hr 43min 42sec.

Lynn Hamel (The Green Room Group) was easily the fastest of the women with 1-54-31, while Ruth Shorter (VTTA North) and Andy Fisher (National Clarion) were best of the tandems with 1-49-47.

Instone on song in Redmon

Warming up for next weekend’s British Time Trial Championship, Ben Instone took victory in the Redmon CC 10-mile event at North Holmwood in Surrey, his time of 20min 20sec being almost a minute faster than his nearest rival.

A3CRG’s Sebastian Ader was second, 56 seconds off the pace, while Sigma Sport RT’s Lee Turner was third with 21-19.

Randle comes close to record in Lincolnshire

Yorkshire veteran Wayne Randle (Planet X) took advantage of warm and dry conditions in Lincolnshire to go close to breaking the course record in the Lincolnshire RRA Championship at Saxilby, near Lincoln, on Saturday.

Randle clocked 20min 47sec to beat local man Ian Dalton (Cherry Valley RT) into second by 21 seconds.

James Rogers took third, and also led Scunthorpe Poly CC to the team prize alongside Anthony Nash and Martin Pitchford.

Hutch sharp in Sanjan Design 10

Also preparing for next Sunday’s championship was Michael Hutchinson (In Gear Quickvit RT), who clocked the day’s fastest 10-mile time of 19min 57sec in the Team Sanjan Design event in Cambridgeshire.

Hutchinson won the event by 55 seconds from Sigma Sport rival Steve Golla, while Matt Sinclair (Leicestershire RC) was third, another 11 seconds slower.

Easterly winds made for generally slower times, but it failed to stop Hutch clocking an impressive time.

Olympian Newton wins in Hartlepool

After securing a bronze medal in the points race at the Beijing Olympics, Chris Newton (Rapha Condor-Recycling) returned to domestic time trialling with a strong performance in the Hartlepool CC 10-mile event at Crathorne on Saturday.

Newton clocked 20min 4sec to push out Julian Ramsbottom (De Rosa RT) into second spot by 38 seconds, while Shaun Tyson (Adept Precision RT) was third, another 1-05 off the pace.

Maidenhead hilly records go

Both the men’s and women’s course records were broken in the Maidenhead and District CC hilly 30-mile event at Freith, Buckinghamshire.

Wouter Sybrandy (Sigma Sport) clocked 1hr 7min 27sec to claim the men’s record and win the event by almost two and a half minutes from Clarence Wheelers veteran Ray Hughes, while Helen Boatman (Team Milton Keynes) covered the distance in 1hr 21min 42sec to break the women’s record.

While there were the occasional showers to make the corners slippery it was not enough to slow the riders too much, and with few winds times were generally up.

Jones wraps up Hardriders series with Swindon win

Jeff Jones (Chippenham and District Wheelers) recorded his eighth win of the season in the Swindon RC Hilly in Broad Town in Wiltshire. In damp and greasy conditions, Jones clocked 53-34 to win the 23 mile event, beating clubmate Ben Anstie (54-17) with Robin Coomber (John’s Bikes) third in 56-22. Chippenham also won the team prize with Simon Snowden as their third rider.


The win gave Jones the overall victory in the Western Time Trials Association Hardrider Series, a season-long competition based on hilly events. A rider’s best six of a possible twelve results make up their overall score.


Holme Valley Wheelers (Dishforth, North Yorkshire, 50 miles – provisional results)
1 Kevin Dawson ( 1:40:02
2 Andy Wilkinson (Port Sunlight Wheelers) 1:43:02
3 Andy Jackson (Pedalsport CC) 1:43:42
Women: Lynn Hamel (Green Room Group) 1:54:31
Tandems: Ruth Shorter (VTTA North) & Andy Fisher (National Clarion) 1:49:47
Redmon CC (North Holmwood, Surrey, 10 miles)
1 Ben Instone (Scientific 0:20:20
2 Sebastian Ader (A3CRG) 0:21:16
3 Lee Turner (Sigma Sport RT) 0:21:19
4 Christian Yates (In Gear Quickvit RT) 0:21:35
5 Tim Stevens (34 Nomads) 0:21:51
6 Adam Page (Kingston Wheelers) 0:21:55
7 Daniel Paine (GS Stella)
8 Stewart Jardine (Citihub) 0:21:59
9 Mick Deen (Redmon CC) 0:22:01
10 Brian Molloy (Epsom CC) 0:22:07
Veterans: Christian Yates
Veterans on std: Harry Featherstonje (Eastbourne Rovers CC) 0:26:13
Women: Deborah Percival (34 Nomads) 0:25:38
Juniors: Milo Burdeau (In Gear Development Squad) 0:27:38
Lincolnshire RRA 10-Mile Championship (Saxilby, Lincolnshire)
1 Wayne Randle (Planet X) 0:20:47
2 Ian Dalton (Cherry Valley RT) 0:21:08
3 James Rogers (Scunthorpe Poly CC) 0:21:25
4 Adam Hardy (Wolds RT) 0:21:42
5 Marc Mallender (Rutland CC)
6 Andrew Stuart (Ashfield RC) 0:21:45
7 Steve Guymer (Starr Bikes RT) 0:21:48
8 Russell Beedham (Lincoln Wheelers) 0:21:53
9 Anthony Nash (Scunthorpe Poly CC) 0:22:01
10 Aaron Tuplin (Cherry Valley RT) 0:22:13
Team: Scunthorpe Poly CC (James Rogers, Anthony Nash, Martin Pitchford) 1:06:02
Women: Clare Ella (Lincoln Wheelers) 0:23:34
Veterans on std: Neville Atkinson (Scunthorpe RC) 0:25:37
Team Sanjan Design (Cambridgeshire, 10 miles)
1 Michael Hutchinson (In Gear QUickvit RT) 0:19:57
2 Steve Golla (Sigma Sport RT) 0:20:52
3 Matt Sinclair (Leicestershire RC) 0:21:03
4 Nik Bowdler (Farnborough & Camberley CC) 0:21:06
5 Wouter Sybrandy (Sigma Sport RT) 0:21:13
6 Richard O’Rourke (Flitch Crono) 0:21:25
Women: Claire Newland (Welwyn Wheelers) 0:25:07
Tandems: Alan Newark (CC Breckland) & Mark Arnold (API Metrow) 0:20:40
Hartlepool CC (Crathorne, North Yorkshire, 10 miles)
1 Chris Newton (Rapha Condor-Recycling) 0:20:04
2 Julian Ramsbottom (De Rosa RT) 0:20:42
3 Shaun Tyson (Adept Precision RT) 0:21:47
4 Jason Bateman (Pendle Forest CC) 0:21:53
5 Tim Moorhouse (Boneshakers RT) 0:21:55
6 Mark Grange (Scarborough Paragon CC) 0:21:56
Team: Adept Precision RT (Shaun Tyson, A. Moss, Bartholomew) 1:08:04
Women: Sarah Cramoysan (Team Swift-Allsports) 0:23:16
Juniors: Rob Graham (Lotto Olympia) 0:22:39
Veterans: Michael Ellerton (Team Swift-Allsports) 0:21:39
Veterans on std: Les Dawson (Teesside RC) (29-31) +9-11
Juveniles: Josh Teesdale (Stockton Wheelers) 0:23:47
Maidenhead & District Hilly (Freith, Buckinghamshire, 30 miles)
1 Wouter Sybrandy (Sigma Sport RT) 1:07:27
2 Ray Hughes (Clarence Wheelers) 1:09:55
3 Mark Cox (Didcot Phoenix) 1:12:16
4 Peter Weir (Maidenhead & District CC) 1:13:57
5 Chris Heape (Maidenhead & District CC) 1:14:06
6 John Dowling (Hemel Hempstead CC0 1:16:25
Women: Helen Boatman (Team Milton Keynes) 1:21:42
Veterans on std: Ray Hughes
Swindon RC Hilly (Broad Town, Wiltshire, 23 miles – provisional results)
1 Jeff Jones (Chippenham & Dist. Wheelers) 0:53:34
2 Ben Anstie (Chippenham & Dist. Wheelers) 0:54:17
3 Robin Coomber (John’s Bikes) 0:56:22
4 Derek Smetham (Dursley RC) 0:56:35
5 Robert Gough (John’s Bikes) 0:57:14
Team: Chippenham & Dist. Wheelers (Jones, Anstie, Simon Snowden)