UK time trialling roundup

Botrill, Ramsbottom and Platts win national three-up championships

Eleven years after they first won national team time trial medals, Matt Bottrill and Julian Ramsbottom linked up once again – along with Geoff Platts – to take glory in the British National Three-Up Championships in Leicestershire on Sunday.


The De Rosa Racing Team trio clocked 52min 7sec for the 50-kilometre course to take victory by 12 seconds.

Bottrill and Ramsbottom were part of the winning North Wirral Velo team which won the 1997 team time trial championships (alongside Brett Harwood and Chris Newton) and they appear to have lost none of their talent or speed.

They were the last team off in a field of 40, and were aiming at the 52min 19sec mark set by the Arctic Premier RT team of David McGaw, Tim Bayley and Danny Axford. At the turn they were six seconds down on their target, but they pulled it back over the last half of the event to win by 12 seconds.

The British Best All-Rounder against the clock, Kevin Dawson was part of the Sportscover team which secured the final place on the podium with 52min 39sec, the other two riders being Ashley Brown and Brad Johnston.

The expected challenge from Shorter Rochford RT failed to materialise after Gavin Pardoe pulled out, and while reserve rider Adam Duggleby stepped in they still failed to finish, while there was also bad luck for the Planet X A team of Wayne Randle, Mark Lovatt and Hywel Davies, with Randle also failing to finish.

Three 100 mile events this weekend

On a day with three 100-mile events taking place, Cambridge CC rider Ken Platts recorded the fastest time with his winning 3hr 44min 34sec in the Eastern Counties CA event at Ugley in Essex. He was 2min 24sec faster than PCA Ciclos Uno rider Paul Smith, while Team Swift-Allsports rider Carl Ruebotham took third, 8min 7sec off Platts’ pace.

Elsewhere, Keith Coffey (Bec CC) was a convincing winner of the East Sussex CA event at Upper Dicker, West Sussex, with his time of 4hr 3min 53sec. He was fastest by more than 12 minutes than runner-up Mark Winton (Lewes Wanderers) who clocked 4hr 16min 11sec, while Peter Moon (Eastbourne Rovers) took third with 4hr 18min 19sec.

Finally, Stourbridge Velo rider David Birch took the honours in the Manchester and District TTA 100-mile event at Marthall, Cheshire, with his time of 4hr 0min 30sec. Scratch rider Neil Skellern (Congleton CC) had to settle for second spot with 4hr 3min 27sec.

25 mile roundup

The course record for the B25/4 at Morley in Norfolk fell to Peter Balls of West Suffolk Wheelers on Sunday, who clocked 52min 31sec to win the Norwich ABC 25-mile event. Balls was 49 seconds faster than Anglia Velo’s James Eman who took second spot, while Andre Dyason (PCA Ciclos Uno) was another 30 seconds off the pace.

Part of the reigning National 100-mile Championship team, Joel Wainman proved a convincing winner in the Otley CC 25-mile event at Boroughbridge, North Yorkshire, on Sunday.


Wainman clocked 55min 13sec to win by almost two minutes from Yorkshire Road Club’s veteran John Coleman, whose time of 57min 4sec held off third-placed Lee Foster (Border City Wheelers) by 17 seconds.