Ullrich powers past Gil for Swiss win

A convincing win in the final time trial of the Tour of Switzerland sees Jan Ullrich romp past overn

A convincing win in the final time trial of the Tour of Switzerland sees Jan Ullrich romp past overn



Jan Ullrich gave the clearest indication yet that he is running into great form as the Tour de France approaches when he won Sunday’s concluding time trial of the Tour of Switzerland by a convincing margin that was more than enough to carry him through to overall victory.

Ullrich beat Cadel Evans by 23 seconds over the 30km course into Berne, with overnight leader Koldo Gil ninth at 1-14, enabling Ullrich to take his second win in his favourite Tour preparation race.

Ullrich was strongly tipped to win the time trial after taking victory the mid-Giro TT last month and riding strongly through the first eight days of the Swiss tour. On Saturday he looked very strong on a mountain stage comprising the substantial climbs of the Lukmanier, the Oberalp the Gotthard.

Set up by some strong riding by his T-Mobile team-mates, Ullrich rode strongly on the final climb, even if race leader Gil did manage to get clear of him briefly. The stage was won by Astana’s Alberto Contador, the only rider from an earlier break that stayed clear of the yellow jersey group.

That left the Berne time trial to decide the title, and there was never much doubt that Ullrich was going to claim both. The only slight worry for the German and his team is Andreas Klden’s abandon on Saturday due to the effects of a cold.

Stage 9, Kerzers-Berne time trial

1 Jan Ullrich (Ger) T-Mobile 30.7km in 38.45
2 Cadel Evans (Aus) Davitamon-Lotto 0.23
3 Angel Vicioso (Spa) Astana-Wrth 0.31
4 Janez Brajkovic (Slo) Discovery Channel 0.47
5 Linus Gerdemann (Ger) T-Mobile 0.51
6 Christian Vande Velde (USA) CSC 0.53
7 Kim Kirchen (Lux) T-Mobile 1.01
8 Vladimir Karpets (Rus) Caisse d’Epargne 1.02
9 Koldo Gil (Spa) Saunier Duval 1.14
10 Jrg Jaksche (Ger) Astana-Wrth 1.22

Final overall standings


1 Jan Ullrich (Ger) T-Mobile 38.21.36
2 Koldo Gil (Spa) Saunier Duval 0.24
3 Jrg Jaksche (Ger) Astana-Wrth 1.03
4 Angel Vicioso (Spa) Astana-Wrth 1.44
5 Janez Brajkovic (Slo) Discovery Channel 2.33
6 Frank Schleck (Lux) CSC 2.56
7 Linus Gerdemann (Ger) T-Mobile 3.31
8 Giampaolo Caruso (Ita) Astana-Wrth 4.20
9 Vladimir Karpets (Rus) Caisse d’Epargne 4.27
10 Cadel Evans (Aus) Davitamon-Lotto 5.01