Velo d’Or to Contador

Alberto Contador has won the Velo d'Or award


Contador wins Velo d’Or


Tour de France winner Alberto Contador has won the Vélo d’Or, a prize given out each year by French magazine Vélo. Contador was voted the best cyclist of the year by an international panel of journalists. He scored more points than world time trial champion Fabian Cancellara and world road champion Paolo Bettini to win.

“It’s a real honour to win this trophy,” said Contador. “The great names in cycling have won it, notably Miguel Indurain in 1992 and 1993. I’m proud to be the second Spanish rider to win it.”


There was also a French Vélo d’Or awarded, and that went to mountain biker Julien Absalon ahead of Christophe Moreau and Sandy Casar. It’s the fourth time in a row that Absalon, a four-time world cross country champion, has won it.