Video: James Shirley wins Fort William enduro

UK’s most extreme downhill mountain bike endurance event

80 entrants rode a total of 870 runs in six hours with a total distance of 2453.4 km covered

The Hope Endurance Downhill took place at Fort William at the weekend and involved riders descending the 2.82km World Cup track as many times as possible in six hours.


James Shirley (Glencroft Rabble) from Lochaber, Scotland was crowned king of the hill in the race dubbed as the most extreme downhill mountain bike enduro in the UK.

Chris Hutchens (MTB Cut/Cycle Jersey) was second and Alistair Maclennan (Offbeatbikes) finished third. The 80 entrants rode a total of 870 runs and covered 2,453km.

Click play to watch video highlights and interviews:

fort bill enduro

The race began with a Le Mans-style mass start, involving a 100m sprint along a forestry track where the riders had to pick up their bikes. This was followed by an uphill ride to the track for the first run down. 

Seven riders managed to complete 16 descents of the track, with last year’s second placed rider Shirley averaging 6min 3sec per run to take the top spot on the podium with a total time of 1:36:50. 

Elite downhiller Hutchens was only one-and-a-half minutes behind Shirley, averaging 6min 9sec per descent, despite losing his chain on the second run and freewheeling for the remaining 14 laps. He recording the fastest run of the day.

Veteran winner Alistair MacLennan (Off Beat Bikes) was third overall for the second year running, with a total time of 1:38:45.

Hutchens’ team-mate James Scott also lost his chain during run six but still finished as the top junior rider and fourth overall, completing 16 descents in 1:39:25.

Jesse Wigman of Off Beat Bikes was the fastest hardtail rider with 15 laps in an impressive 1:54:00.

Frazer Coupland from No Fuss Events, organisers of the Hope Downhill Endurance, said: “We are again extremely happy with the way the race went and are delighted that Hope are interested in being sponsor again next year. We would also like to announce that next year competitors will be able to compete in teams of two, although spaces will be limited.”

Mountain Biking UK magazine technical writer Ian Collins rode the enduro, and a full feature will appear in an upcoming issue of the magazine. Also, keep an eye on BikeRadar for a video of the event.


Senior men

  1. James Shirley (Glencroft Rabble) – 16 laps in 1:36:50
  2. Chris Hutchens (MTB Cut/Cycle Jersey) – 16 laps in 1:38:20
  3. Mark Maciver (Monsterbike) 16 laps in 1:42:08

Veteran men

  1. Alistair MacLennan (Off Beat Bikes) – 16 laps in 1:38:45
  2. Steven Deas (I-Cycles) 14 laps in 1:54:23
  3. Mark Hyslop (Take it like a man) 14 laps in 2:03:44

Junior men

  1. James Scott (MTB Cut/Cycle Jersey) – 16 laps in 1:39:25
  2. Rory Maclennan – 15 laps in 1:57:00
  3. Robert Shaw (Inspire to Aspire) – 13 laps in 1:52:12

Senior women

  1. Naomi Williamson (Highland Bicycle Co) – 13 laps in 1:53:58
  2. Angela Coates (Fox Racing) – 13 laps in 1:59:50
  3. Jo Cardwell (Moray MINX Girl) – 12 laps in 2:00:06

For full results, go to