Voigt retains Med for CSC

Jens Voigt and Team CSC once again prove simply unstoppable in the Tour of the Mediterranean, winnin

Cycling : Tour Méditerranéen / Stage 3
VOIGT Jens ( Ger ) Yellow Jersey Maillot Jaune Gele Trui / BROCHARD Laurent ( Fra )
Tour Med / Ronde Middelandse Zee
Etape / Rit
Jens Voigt and Team CSC once again prove simply unstoppable in the Tour of the Mediterranean, winnin

PIC BY TDWSPORT.COM CSC may have lost the services of last year’s Tour of the Med winner Jorg Jaksche, but there has still been no stopping them this year. Victory on the final day in Marseille went to Robert Hunter in a bunch sprint, but there was little doubt about the strongest rider and team in the race, as Jens Voigt finished a clear overall winner, with three of his team-mates in the top 10 for good measure. Having established a platform for victory with two stage wins in the opening three days, CSC pretty much secured the overall title for Voigt with an impressive winning performance in Saturday’s team time trial, leaving Sunday’s run in to Marseille as little more than a formality for the Danish team. “This was an important victory for us. The team has worked incredibly hard all week, so today’s stage was no walk in the park. But we made it, and it was nice to see the entire team up there on the podium,” said CSC directeur sportif Kim Andersen after the team time trial. “We gained about half a minute on the other teams in the final part, and that’s what made the difference. It’s safe to say, that we have dominated this race, and winning the team time trial was truly the icing on the cake.” After wrapping up the overall prize in Marseille, Voigt said: “I’m extremely happy with this victory. It is a prestigious race, formerly won by great riders. It’s been one of the goals for the spring season, and everything has turned out just right this week. I’ve already won a lot this year, but it isn’t something I’ll ever get tired of.” Stage 4, Bouc Bel Air-Berre l’Etang team time trial 1 Team CSC 36km in 39.51 (54.20kph) 2 Liquigas 0.16 3 Rabobank 4 La Franaise des Jeux 1.03 5 Domina Vacanze 1.15 6 Crdit Agricole 1.21 7 Ag2r 1.27 8 Fassa Bortolo 1.30 9 Quick Step 1.45 10 Bouygues Telecom 1.46 Stage 5, Cabris-Marseille 1 Robert Hunter (SA) Phonak 122km in 3.05.22 2 Danilo Hondo (Ger) Gerolsteiner 3 Fabio Sacchi (Ita) Fassa Bortolo 4 Stefano Zanini (Ita) Quick Step 5 Jeremy Hunt (GB) MrBookmaker.com 6 Simone Cadamuro (Ita) Domina Vacanze 7 Lnac Olivier (Fra) Agritubel 8 Antonio d’Aniello (Ita) Miche 9 Jimmy Engoulvent (Fra) Cofidis 10 Bram Tankink (Hol) Quick Step 11 Ciaran Power (Ire) Navigators Final overall 1 Jens Voigt (Ger) Team CSC 13.52.38 2 Franck Schleck (Lux) CSC 0.49 3 Franco Pellizotti (Ita) Liquigas 1.00 4 Nicki Sorensen (Den) CSC 1.34 5 Thomas Lovkvist (Swe) La Francaise des Jeux 2.02 6 Thomas Dekker (Hol) Rabobank 7 Joost Posthuma (Hol) Rabobank 2.26 8 Kim Kirchen (Lux) Fassa Bortolo 2.27 9 Bobby Julich (USA) CSC 2.31 10 Laurent Brochard (Fra) Bouygues Telecom 2.45