Voigt takes Med opener

Jens Voigt maintains CSC's rapidfire start to the season with a solo victory on the opening stage of

Cycling : Tour Méditerranéen / Stage 1
VOIGT Jens ( Ger ) / CELESTINO Mirko ( Ita ) 
Stage 1: SanRemo ( Ita ) - Menton ( Fra )
Tour Med / Ronde Middelandse Zee
Etape / Rit

Jens Voigt maintains CSC’s rapidfire start to the season with a solo victory on the opening stage of

PIC BY TDWSPORT.COM CSC’s great start to the season continued on the opening day of the Tour of Mediterranean as Jens Voigt won the stage from the Italian resort of San Remo to its French counterpart Menton. The stage featured the famous Poggio climb from Milan-San Remo. Although the Poggio did cause some splits in the leading group, it was on a hill nearer to the finish that Voigt got a gap and soloed away to the finish. “Jens was in a league of his own today,” said CSC directeur sportif Kim Andersen. “The peloton was more or less all together before Poggio, where everything exploded. Jens escaped along with three other riders, and Vladimir Gusev was close behind. Gerolsteiner rapidly organized a pursuit, and they almost reeled them in on a minor hill shortly before finish. But then Jens attacked true to habit, and the others in the break away had to let go.” Voigt commented: “It was nice the way it went. I love to go against all the odds, with all the teams chasing and win all by myself. Those are the most satisfying wins. The guys in the break were ready to give up and I said, ‘Come on guys, let’s keep going.’ So I put it into a bigger gear and just attacked. They let me go, thinking, ‘Where’s that guy think he’s going?’ “The yellow jersey is a comfortable place to be, you don’t have to attack. It’s up to the rest to make the race, so you can control the effort a little better.” Stage 1, San Remo-Menton 1 Jens Voigt (Ger) Team CSC 130km in 3.18.11 (39.36kph) 2 Jean-Patrick Nazon (Fra) Ag2r 0.17 3 Erik Dekker (Hol) Rabobank 4 Staf Scheirlinckx (Bel) Cofidis 5 Luca Paolini (Ita) Quick Step 6 Giairo Ermeti (Ita) Miche 7 Crescenzo d’Amore (Ita) Acqua & Sapone 8 Vladimir Goussev (Rus) CSC 9 Bram de Groot (Hol) Rabobank 10 Christophe Detilloux (Bel) Franaise des Jeux