Voigt ties up D-Tour victory

Jens Voigt goes one better than his second place two years ago as he wraps up a very popular overall

Jens Voigt goes one better than his second place two years ago as he wraps up a very popular overall



Despite the absence of its tarnished cycling hero Jan Ullrich, Germany got the home win it was hoping for in its national tour when Jens Voigt came home safely in the pack as the race finished on Wednesday afternoon in Karlsruhe. The final stage provided a shop window for Aussie sprinter Graeme Brown to showcase his undoubted talent as the Rabobank rider led in Erik Zabel (Milram) and Danilo Napolitano (Lampre) for his second stage win in five days.

CSC’s Voigt admnitted it had been “a hard race, with a lot of rain and cold, but I was ready for it. I didn’t spend more than one day off with my family between the Tour de France and the Tour of Germany, and didn’t ease up. Today was a flat stage, not too hard, and I could enjoy wearing my jersey in front of my home fans.”

Second to Patrik Sinkewitz two years ago, Voigt, who won three stages during the race, said of his victory: “I know how I win, it’s by hard work, not by cheating. But we need more controls and more testing to make sure this sport is as free of drugs problems as possible.”

Brown was a happy man too after securing a couple of wins that could ensure he gets a contract with a ProTour team next season. “The first few days were a bit disappointing because I was looking for a result and didn’t get it. But I’m going home now with two stage wins, so I’m more than satisfied,” said the Rabobank sprinter.

Stage 8, Bad Krozingen-Karlsruhe

1 Graeme Brown (Aus) Rabobank 172km in 3.46.38 (45.56kph)
2 Erik Zabel (Ger) Milram
3 Danilo Napolitano (Ita) Lampre
4 Rony Martias (Fra) Bouygues Telecom
5 Gerald Ciolek (Ger) Wiesenhof
6 Luciano Pagliarini (Bra) Saunier Duval
7 Steffen Radochla (Ger) Wiesenhof
8 Andr Greipel (Ger) T-Mobile
9 Herv Duclos-Lassalle (Fra) Cofidis
10 Mark Renshaw (Aus) Crdit Agricole

Final overall standings


1 Jens Voigt (Ger) Team CSC 32.11.10
2 Levi Leipheimer (USA) Gerolsteiner 1.38
3 Andrei Kashechkin (Kaz) Astana 2.23
4 Vladimir Gusev (Rus) Discovery Channel 2.33
5 Evgeni Petrov (Rus) Lampre 2.57
6 Marzio Bruseghin (Ita) Lampre 3.42
7 I¤igo Cuesta (Spa) CSC 4.08
8 Stijn Devolder (Bel) Discovery Channel 4.09
9 Eddy Mazzoleni (Ita) T-Mobile 4.36
10 Pablo Lastras (Spa) Caisse d’Epargne 4.38