Weekend results: Lazio, Portugal, Route de France Féminine, Pendle

A round up from the non-ProTour side of road racing.


While the ProTour squads focused on the Tour of Germany over the weekend, there was plenty of other European action on the road.


In the 73rd edition of the Italian classic Giro del Lazio, Gabriele Bosisio (Tenax) won from a six man breakaway ahead of Emanuele Sella (Ceramica Panaria) and Branislau Samoilau (Acqua & Sapone).) 00:0Bosioso benefited from having a teammate, Ruslan Pidgornyy, in the breakaway.

Given that Italian national team selector Franco Ballerini, was taking a keen interest in the race, Bosisio might have increased his chances for the Italian world’s squad.


1 Gabriele Bosisio (Ita | Tenax-Menikini) 5:08:33
2 Emanuele Sella (Ita | Ceramica Panaria-Navigare)
3 Branislau Samoilau (Blr | Acqua & Sapone-Caffe Mokambo) 00:00:02
4 Kanstantsin Siutsou (Blr | Barloworld)
5 Santo Anza (Ita | Serramenti PVC Diquigiovanni- Selle Italia)
6 Ruslan Pidgornyy (Ukr | Tenax-Menikini) 00:00:25
7 Serguei Klimov (Rus | Tinkoff Credit System) 00:02:13
8 Maurizio Varini (Ita | Ceramica Flaminia) 00:03:10
9 Francisco J. Vila Errandonea (Spa | Lampre-Fondital) 00:03:14
10 Giairo Ermeti (Ita | Tenax-Menikini) 00:03:24

The Tour of Portugal finishes on August 15, and currently Candido Barbosa (Liberty Seguros) leads by 17 seconds over Eladio Jimenez (Karpin-Galicia) and David Blanco (Duja Tavira). Over the weekend, Jimenez won Saturday’s sixth stage between Celorico de Basto and Mondim de Basto, while Paride Grillo (Ceramica Panaria) triumphed on Sunday in a bunch sprint in Gondomar.

Stage 6: Celorico de Basto – Mondim de Basto, 143.0 km

1 Eladio Jimenez (Spa | Karpin-Galicia) 3:54:28
2 José Azevedo (Por | Benfica) 00:00:06)
3 Candido Barbosa (Por | Liberty Seguros) 00:00:11
4 David Blanco (Spa | Duja-Tavira)
5 Xavier Tondo (Spa | LA MSS) 00:00:15

Stage 7: Lixa – Gondomar, 168.0 km

1 Paride Grillo (Ita | Ceramica Panaria-Navigare) 3:53:48
2 Mikhaylo Khalilov (Ukr | Ceramica Flaminia)
3 Candido Barbosa (Por | Liberty Seguros)
4 Marco Bandiera (Ita | Lampre-Fondital)
5 Bruno Neves (Por | LA MSS)

General classification after stage 7

1 Candido Barbosa (Por | Liberty Seguros) 31:43:50
2 Eladio Jimenez (Spa | Karpin-Galicia) 00:00:17
3 David Blanco (Spa | Duja-Tavira) 00:00:28
4 José Azevedo (Por | Benfica) 00:00:30
5 Xavier Tondo (Spa | LA MSS) 00:00:37

The pro women kicked off the week long stage race, Route de France Féminine, on Saturday. Kori Seehafer (US National team) won the 2.2km prologue in Fécamp ahead of Svetlana Bubnenkova and Amber Neben, while Australian Rochelle Gilmore (Menikini) won Sunday’s stage between Fécamp and Neuchatel ahead of her compatriot Belinda Goss and Bubnenkova. Seehafer kept the lead in the general classification.

Prologue: Fécamp, 2.2 km

1 Kori Seehafer (USA | US National Team) 2:47:16
2 Svetlana Bubnenkova (Rus | Fenixs – HPB) 00:04:04
3 Amber Neben (USA | US National Team) 00:04:13
4 Dorte Lohse Rasmussen (Den | Menikini – Selle Italia – Gysko) 00:03:49
5 Sophie Creux (Fra | French National Team) 00:04:11

Stage 1: Fécamp – Neuchatel, 129.2 km

1 Rochelle Gilmore (Aus | Menikini – Selle Italia – Gysko) 3:21:27
2 Belinda Goss (Aus | Australian National Team)
3 Svetlana Bubnenkova (Rus | Fenixs – HPB)
4 Marina Jaunatre (Fra | Vienne Futuroscope)
5 Lang Meng (Chn | Giant Pro Cycling)

General classification after stage 1

1 Kori Seehafer (USA | US National Team) 3:24:14
2 Svetlana Bubnenkova (Rus | Fenixs – HPB) 00:00:03
3 Amber Neben (USA | US National Team)
4 Dorte Lohse Rasmussen (Den | Menikini – Selle Italia – Gysko) 00:00:04
5 Sophie Creux (Fra | French National Team)

In the Tour of Pendle, the final round of the British premier calendar, New Zealander Gordon McCauley (PlowmanCraven-Evans) beat Rob Partridge (Recycling.co.uk) and David Clarke at the end of the 140km race. McCauley had been aggressive all day and it paid off when he got away with Partridge, Clarke and Wayne Randle on the last climb. The quartet worked well to finish 55 seconds ahead of the next group, which was led home by Premier Calendar winner Chris Newton (Recycling.co.uk).

It was McCauley’s first win in a premier calendar event this season, and with it he clinched second place overall in the series. He also gained selection in the time trial for the New Zealand team for the world championships.


1 Gordon McCauley (NZl | PlowmanCraven-Evans) 3:35:36
2 Rob Partridge (GBr | Recycling.co.uk)
3 David Clarke (GBr | BC Private member)
4 Wayne Randle (GBr | Sportscover-PlanetX) 00:00:06
5 Chris Newton (GBr | Recycling.co.uk) 00:00:55


© BikeRadar 2007