Wegmann takes Dauphiné lead

Dave Zabriskie's lead at the Dauphiné Libéré lasts just one day after a four-man group gets clear on

Dave Zabriskie’s lead at the Dauphiné Libéré lasts just one day after a four-man group gets clear on

PIC BY TDWSPORT.COM Gerolsteiner’s Fabian Wegmann took the lead in the Dauphin Libr when he won Monday’s first road stage into Bourgoin Jallieu, beating Thomas Voeckler, Egoi Martinez and Paco Mancebo in a four-up sprint. The quartet finished 13 seconds ahead of the main pack, which included prologue winner David Zabriskie, who dropped to third overall, five seconds down on Wegmann and tied with Voeckler. The first move of the day came from Dauphin local Nicolas Inaudi (Cofidis), who went away early and built a lead of more than 18 minutes before the peloton started to react. CSC and Crdit Agricole whittled the lead down and Inaudi was caught on the last 4th cat climb, just 15km from the finish. The decisive move came on the same hill as Wegmann and co countered, and managed to maintain their advantage coming into the finish, where the nippy German took the honours. Tuesday’s stage to Saint Galmier has a similar look to it, running 203km over a series of small climbs. Stage 1, Annecy-Bourgoin Jallieu 1 Fabian Wegmann (Ger) Gerolsteiner 207km in 5.06.36 (40.51kph) 2 Thomas Voeckler (Fra) Bouygues Telecom 3 Egoi Martinez (Spa) Discovery Channel 4 Francisco Mancebo (Spa) Ag2r 0.02 5 Danilo Napolitano (Ita) Lampre 0.13 6 Sebastian Siedler (Ger) Gerolsteiner 7 Chris Horner (USA) Davitamon-Lotto 8 Juan Jos Rojas (Spa) Astana-Wrth 9 Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Franaise des Jeux 10 Mauro Da Dalto (Ita) Liquigas Overall 1 Fabian Wegmann (Ger) Gerolsteiner 5.11.19 2 Voeckler 0.05 3 David Zabriskie (USA) CSC 4 Martinez 0.07 5 George Hincapie (USA) Discovery Channel 6 Mancebo 0.09 7 Thor Hushovd (Nor) Crdit Agricole 0.11 8 Stuart O’Grady (Aus) CSC 9 Sebastian Lang (Ger) Gerolsteiner 0.12 10 Joost Posthuma (Hol) Rabobank 0.13