Zabriskie keeps US Pro TT jersey

Raisin returns to racing

Utah native David Zabriskie (Team CSC) successfully defended his US Pro time trial championship jersey by winning the 30.1 kilometer race of truth by one second over future Slipstream teammate Danny Pate at the Greenville Hospital System USA Cycling Professional Championships in South Carolina Saturday.


Zabriskie’s future brother-in-law, Saul Raisin (Credit Agricole), returned to pro racing after his traumatic April 2006 crash and recovery to finish in 33rd, 4:33 off the pace. Embattled Coloradan Tyler Hamilton (Tinkoff) finished in the same time as Bobby Julich (Team CSC), just 49 seconds off Zabriskie’s time.

Zabriskie averaged a speed of 45.644 k.p.h. over the 30-kilometer course to clock a winning time of 39 minutes, 34 seconds. His victory on Saturday marked the first time in 11 years in which a professional or elite male won two straight national time trial titles. Steve Hegg was the last athlete to record consecutive victories in the race against the clock in 1995 and ’96.

Tim Duggan (Slipstream) surprised the 33-rider field with one of the best performances of his young career as the 24-year-old claimed the final spot on the podium. Duggan finished eight seconds off the pace of Zabriskie to place third.

The victory also represents Zabriskie’s third career national time trial title as a professional rider. He also captured the stars-and-stripes jersey in 2004 when elite and professional categories were contested together.

As the 31st-seeded rider in a 33-man field, Duggan was the third rider to leave the start gate. After he finished, his mark of 39:42 remained the time to beat until only seven competitors remained out on course. Pate was the first of two riders to eclipse Duggan’s time, clocking a 39:35. As the defending champion and last man to start, Zabriskie barely surpassed Pate after sprinting to the line in the final 100 meters.

“I didn’t wear a radio again this year but at the turnaround when I saw (2006 silver medalist) Baldwin, I knew I was quite a bit ahead of him”, Zabriskie said. “I didn’t know what his form was like, so I was going as hard as I can go. I lost a little aggression on the way back and coming into the finish I could hear the announcer say ‘he’s got to finish in two seconds or he’s going to lose’, so I started sprinting.”

In addition to a spot on the podium, Zabriskie, Pate and Duggan are also linked as alumni of USA Cycling’s European-based National Development Team program. Zabriskie graduated from the program in 1999 before he went on to begin his professional career in 2001 with the U.S. Postal Service team. Pate was a member of the national governing body’s squad in 2001 when he captured the U23 world time trial title in Portugal. Duggan also spent time as a member of the national team in 2004, competing in major international development races such as the Tour de l’Avenir in France.

“After my accident, my first goal, and the goal for my team and family and all my loved ones, was just to live a normal life again, and you know, I have that,” Raisin said. “And after that, my goal was to get back to racing. Today was my first race, and all the emotions I had…I can’t describe them. About halfway through the race it kind of hit me. It’s like ‘Oh my gosh, I’m racing.’ It was amazing. My next goal is in 2008 to start a full racing season.”

The 2007 USA Cycling Professional Championships continue on Sunday as the road race will feature the United States’ top international and domestic pros.


1 David Zabriske (Team CSC) 0:39:34  
2 Danny Pate (Team Slipstream pb Chipotle) 0:00:01  
3 Timothy Duggan (Team Slipstream pb Chipotle) 0:00:08  
4 Tom Zirbel (Priority Health pb Bissell) 0:00:15  
5 Bobby Julich (Team CSC) 0:00:49  
6 Tyler Hamilton (Tinkoff Credit Systems)    
7 Michael Creed (Team Slipstream pb Chipotle) 0:00:56  
8 Christopher Baldwin (Toyota – United) 0:00:59  
9 Michael Friedman (Team Slipstream pb Chipotle) 0:01:02  
10 Ben Jacques-Maynes (Priority Health pb Bissell) 0:01:12  
11 Michael Grabinger ( pb Parkpre) 0:01:28  
12 Daniel Ramsay ( pb Parkpre) 0:01:42  
13 Bernard Van Ulden (Navigators Insurance)    
14 Thad Dulin (The Jittery Joe’s – Zero Gravity) 0:01:49  
15 Curtis Gunn ( pb Parkpre) 0:02:05  
16 Steven Cozza (Team Slipstream pb Chipotle) 0:02:07  
17 Graham Howard (Priority Health pb Bissell) 0:02:10  
18 Brad Huff (Team Slipstream pb Chipotle) 0:02:11  
19 Matthew Crane (HealthNet pb Maxxis) 0:02:16  
20 Ian Mckissick (BMC) 0:02:22  
21 Tony Cruz (Discovery Channel) 0:02:24  
22 Phil Zajicek (Navigators Insurance) 0:02:31  
23 Jacob Rosenbarger (BMC) 0:02:59  
24 Nick Reistad (Jelly Belly) 0:03:03  
25 Joshua Thornton ( – Sierra Nevada) 0:03:10  
26 Clayton Barrows (Rite Aid) 0:03:16  
27 Reid Mumford (Kelly Benefit Strategies / Medifast) 0:03:19  
28 Bobby Sweeting (AEG Toshiba – Jetnetwork) 0:03:25  
29 Bryce Mead (Jelly Belly) 0:03:39  
30 Michael Lange (Team Slipstream pb Chipotle) 0:03:51  
31 Michael Norton (Rite Aid) 0:04:02  
32 David Winston (AEG Toshiba – Jetnetwork) 0:04:24  
33 Saul Raisin (Credit Agricole) 0:04:33  

© BikeRadar & USA Cycling 2007