2010 Cyprus Sunshine Cup set for 21 Feb – 7 March

Mediterranean island training and racing, anyone?

Women's racing action from 2009.

The 2010 Cyprus Sunshine Cup is set for 21 February to 7 March, with the pro riders fighting for the overall on three weekends of competition on the sunny Mediterranean island.


The new Aphrodite Trophy competition includes a mountain run and a mountain bike marathon on 20-21 March.  

For many world-class mountain bike racers, the Cyprus Sunshine Cup fits in well with their training schedule. To give more riders the opportunity to compete for the overall titles, as well as the 29,000 euros prize money, the 2010 competition has been packed into three weekends.  

Voroklini, this year’s final stage, will be the kick-off on 21 February. The Afxentia stage race in the Macheras forest offers three days of racing from 26-28 February. The final race will be at Amathous between the ancient ruins.

All three events are offering International Cycling Union (UCI)-registered junior races. At Afxentia this includes the cross-country race on Sunday. The races are also open to amatuer riders.

Aphrodite Trophy

The Aphrodite Trophy competition takes place on the mountain bike marathon course between Tochni and Kalavasos, which has been the opening Sunshine Cup circuit in the past.

According to organisers, this is an ideal event for amateur racers looking to combine a spring training camp on Cyprus with a first test of the season.

In 2010, runners also will have the opportunity to compete around Tochni over either a 5km or 15km distance through the mountains.

2010 Cyprus Sunshine Cup schedule

  • February 21 – Voroklini  
  • February 26-28 – Afxentia Macheras mountains
  • March 7 – Amathous-Agios-Tychon
  • Aphrodite Trophy 2010
  • March 20 – Tochni Mountain Run
  • March 21 – Tochni Mountain Bike Marathon  

2009 winners

  • Sunshine Cup 1 – Emil Lindgren (Swe) and Alexandra Engen (Swe)
  • Sunshine Cup 2 – Emil Lindgren (Swe) and Alexandra Engen (Swe)
  • Stage 1 – Emil Lindgren (Swe) and Tereza Hurikova (Cze)
  • Stage 2 – Emil Lindgren (Swe) and Tereza Hurikova (Cze)
  • Stage 3 – Emil Lindgren (Swe) and Alexandra Engen (Swe)
  • Afxentia overall – Emil Lindgren (Swe) and Alexandra Engen (Swe)
  • Sunshine Cup 3 – Jaroslav Kulhavy (Cze) and Lene Byberg (Nor)
  • Sunshine Cup 4 – Sergiy Rysenko (Ukr) and Alexandra Engen (Swe)

2008 winners

  • Sunshine Cup 1 – Fredrik Kessiakoff (Swe) and Heather Irmiger (USA)
  • Sunshine Cup 2 – Roel Paulissen (Bel) and Sabine Spitz (Ger)
  • Sunshine Cup 3 – Jaroslav Kulhavy (Cze) and Sabine Spitz (Ger)
  • Sunshine Cup 4 – Roel Paulissen (Bel) and Petra Henzi (Sui)
  • Sunshine Cup 5 – Christoph Soukup (Aut) and Petra Henzi (Sui)

For more information, visit www.mtbcyprus.com