Arnaud Démare wins Prudential RideLondon-Surrey Classic

Laura Trott first in Prudential RideLondon Grand Prix

Advertisement MPU article

Frenchman Arnaud Démare (FDJ) won the first Prudential RideLondon-Surrey Classic road race this weekend, beating Sacha Modolo (Bardiani Valvole CSF INOX) and Yannick Martinez (La Pomme Marseille) in a bunch sprint on The Mall.

The Classic, which was held on similar roads to the 2012 Olympic road race, saw nearly 100 professional riders contest the sprint after the 137-mile course failed to force a selection. Démare was led out by teammate Geoffroy Soupe, and finished well clear of Modolo in second.

The race did see a seven-man breakaway go clear in the first hour, featuring Zico Waeytens (Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloisel), Dominique Rollin (FDJ), Ramon Sinkeldam (Argos Shimano), Jonathan McEvoy (Team NetApp-Endura), Clinton Robert Avery (Champion System Pro Cycling Team), Michael Cuming (Rapha Condor JLT) and Reidar Bohlin Borgersen (Joker-Merida). They were able to gain a five-minute lead on the peloton during the first ascent of Leith Hill, but it wasn’t enough to stay away and they were all mopped up with about 25 miles to go.

The pro women were in action on Saturday evening for the Prudential RideLondon Grand Prix. Double Olympic champion Laura Trott (Wiggle Honda) triumphed over Hannah Barnes (MG-Maxifuel), with Loren Rowney (Specialized-lululemon) finishing third.

Trott paid tribute to her teammate Dani King, who led her out to win: “Fair play to Dani, she absolutely floored it!” Trott said. “I could feel people on my shoulder, but I needed to be at the front this time; I didn’t want people around me. So I shouted to Dani to go and it just worked out perfectly.”

Laura trott (wiggle-honda) triumphs in the ridelondon grand prix:
Wiggle Honda
Advertisement MPU article

Laura Trott wins the Prudential RideLondon Grand Prix


1 Arnaud Démare (Fra) FDJ.Fr 5:07:43
2 Sacha Modolo (Ita) Bardiani Valvole CSF INOX
3 Yannick Martinez (Fra) La Pomme Marseille
4 Fabio Sabatini (Ita) Cannondale Pro Cycling
5 Danny Van Poppel (Ned) Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team
6 Zakkari Dempster (Aus) Team NetApp-Endura
7 Raymond Kreder (Ned) Garmin Sharp
8 Christian Delle Stelle (Ita) Bardiani Valvole CSF INOX
9 Christopher Sutton (Aus) Sky ProCycling
10 Ben Swift (GBr) Sky ProCycling
Full results –
1 Laura Trott (Wiggle Honda Pro Cycling)
2 Hannah Barnes (MG-Maxifuel)
3 Loren Rowney (Specialized-lululemon)
4 Dani King (Wiggle Honda Pro Cycling)