Braveheart funding announced for 2010

Sights set on the 2010 Commonwealth Games

2009 Braveheart rider of the year Kevin Stewart, with Brad Wiggins

The Scottish-based Braveheart Cycling Fund has selected the 13 riders and four clubs it will support in 2010, when the Commonwealth Games will be staged in Delhi.


Several Games prospects are among those who will be backed by the fund. Kate Cullen and James McCallum, both bronze medalists in Melbourne four years ago, as well as Evan Oliphant and Claire Thomas will be supported in their bids for medals in Delhi.

The biggest share of the funding, which across all categories totals more than £30,000, will be allocated to nine younger athletes from 16-year old track sprinter John Paul to 21-year old road rider Ross Creber. 

Under the ‘special projects’ category of funding, £5,000 is being invested in four junior clubs: Dynamo Falkirk, Discovery Juniors, Wallace Warriors and Peebles Cycling Club. A further £8,000 will be invested in a junior road racing initiative designed to give junior riders international experience, to be run in conjunction with Scottish Cycling under the supervision and guidance of national coach Graeme Herd. 

“We want to support development, and the special projects is an area we want to develop,” said Brian Smith, who set up the Braveheart Cycling Fund in 2002. “It’s a direction we’re keen to head in. Some of the junior clubs in Scotland are doing a fantastic job getting youngsters involved and we really want to support that.” 

Smith also revealed that Kevin Stewart, crowned 2009 Braveheart Cyclist of the Year at the annual dinner in October, will travel to the headquarters of the International Cycling Union (UCI) in Aigle, Switzerland, to take part in trials for a place at the world cycling school. Ross Edgar and Victoria Pendleton are among the sprinters who have graduated from the school and gone on to success at world and Olympic level.

Funding Breakdown:

Braveheart funding is allocated under four categories:

  • Development of Potential World/Olympic Champions – Preference given to U23s
  • Youth Cycling Clubs who actively promote and develop competitive cycling.
  • Commonwealth Games Medal prospects during games years only.
  • Special Projects – Relating directly to Scottish competitive cycle sport.

Under Category 1 receives a total of £13,500 to the following cyclists:

  • John Paul – Track Sprint
  • Kevin Stewart – Track Sprint
  • Callum Skinner – Track Sprint
  • Ross Creber – Road
  • Kenta Gallagher – MTB
  • Sebastian Batchelor – MTB
  • Alexander King – Road
  • Eileen Roe – Road/Track
  • Charline Joiner – Track

Under Category 2 receives £5,000 to the following clubs:

  • Dynamo Falkirk
  • Discovery Juniors
  • Wallace Warriors
  • Peebles CC

Under Category 3 receives £3,750 to the following cyclists:

  • Evan Oliphant
  • James McCallum
  • Kate Cullen
  • Claire Thomas

Under Category 4 receives £8,000 to the following project:

  • Under the guidance and supervision of Graeme Herd and Scottish Cycling the most promising junior road cyclists will be taken to a number of events to help them develop their road racing skills. These events will include an international event as well as the British Junior Road Race series.

You can follow BikeRadar on Twitter at