British Cycling reveal first 50 members of new Hall of Fame

Boardman, McRoy and Burton among famous names

Beryl Burton and Graham Webb at the ‘London 6’ in 1967

British Cycling have today named the first 50 “cycling heroes” to be inducted into their new Hall of Fame. They range from road, mountain bike and BMX racers to behind-the-scenes staff, coaches and managers, TV commentators and volunteers.


The famous names on the list include Olympian and hour record breaker Chris Boardman, Beryl Burton, who dominated women’s time trial racing for three decades, Britain’s first star downhiller Jason McRoy and former BMX world champion and 4X racer Dale Holmes.

In coming up with the shortlist, the Hall of Fame panel decided to recognise past achievements over current successes, so there’s no sight of any of Britain’s 2008 Olympics team or modern mountain biking stars like current world champion Steve Peat.

Panel member Victoria Pendleton said: “We made a conscious decision not to select elite riders who are still competing at an international level or coaches and managers at the top of their game. We also agreed we should recognise administrators and volunteers who have been active in the sport over many years and have made a significant contribution to it during that time. There have also been several posthumous awards.”

British Cycling launched the Hall of Fame to mark their 50th anniversary. They received more than 300 nominations from the public, which were whittled down to this final 50 by a panel consisting of cycling journalists, riders and British Cycling representatives.

Those who made the shortlist will be officially inducted at a gala dinner in Manchester on 20 February 2010. Don’t worry if your favourite hasn’t made the cut – it’s been decided to make Hall of Fame induction an annual event.

The 50 cycling heroes to be inducted into the 2009 British Cycling Hall of Fame are:

  • Pat Adams
  • Caroline Alexander
  • Brian Annable
  • David Baker
  • Sid Barras
  • Stuart Benstead
  • Chris Boardman
  • Bill Bradley
  • Beryl Burton 
  • Keith Butler
  • Arthur Campbell
  • Brian Cossavella
  • Doug Dailey
  • Tony Doyle
  • Ian Emmerson
  • Malcolm Elliott
  • Benny Foster
  • Tim Gould
  • Eileen Gray
  • Dave Hemsley
  • Barry Hoban
  • Dale Holmes
  • Mandy Jones
  • Peter Keen
  • Peter King
  • Stan Kite
  • Phil Liggett
  • Craig Maclean
  • Paul Manning
  • John & Doreen Mallinson
  • Yvonne McGregor
  • Gerry McDaid
  • Jason McRoy
  • Chas Messenger
  • George Millar
  • Robert Millar
  • Graeme Obree
  • Hugh Porter
  • Jason Queally
  • John Rawnsley
  • Brian Robinson
  • Alan Rushton
  • Tom Simpson
  • Eddie Soens
  • Colin Sturgess
  • Dot Tilbury
  • Graham Webb
  • Les West
  • Sean Yates
  • Tony Yorke