British cycling team named for the 2012 Olympics

Road long list plus final track, BMX and MTB squads

David Millar and Mark Cavendish - teammates again at the Olympics?

This article was originally published on


British Cycling announced their squads for the track, BMX and MTB events for the forthcoming London 2012 Olympics at a press conference in Manchester this afternoon, but the biggest news was David Millar’s inclusion on the long list for the road cycling team. Mark Cavendish is expected to lead the men’s team.

While the other squads have already been rubber stamped in terms of personnel, the road squads have simply been split down into ‘long lists’, with the actual shape of the final team yet to be decided. There are eight men on the men’s list, including Millar, and from this list five will be selected over the coming weeks. On the women’s list there are six names, which must be reduced down to four.

Millar’s participation in the Olympics had been in doubt right up to April, when CAS overruled a lifetime ban imposed on British athletes found guilty of doping by the British Olympic Association. Millar had tested positive for EPO in 2004, and up until yesterday had consistently implied that he wouldn’t put himself forward for selection.

Now it not only appears that he has changed his mind, but he has forced his way into the thoughts of the selectors. Other names to appear alongside him are pre-race favourite and current road world champion Mark Cavendish and three-time Olympic gold medallist Bradley Wiggins.

Unable to load media

“We have selected what I believe to be an excellent team going into the Olympic Games and we have a good mix of experienced Olympians alongside young riders who are making their debuts,” said British Cycling Performance Director Dave Brailsford.

“We still have some decisions to make – for example the road team will be refined in due course. Overall though, the GB Cycling Team has had a strong season across all disciplines and we are ready to step up again at the Olympics.”

Unable to load media

Video: Sir Chris Hoy talks about the British Olympic cycling team

Full GB Olympic cycling squad

Track Sprint

Philip Hindes, Chris Hoy, Jason Kenny, Victoria Pendleton, Jessica Varnish

Track Endurance

Steven Burke, Edward Clancy, Wendy Houvenaghel, Peter Kennaugh, Danielle King, Joanna Rowsell, Andrew Tennant, Geraint Thomas, Laura Trott


Liam Phillips, Shanaze Reade

Cross Country Mountain Biking

Liam Killeen, Annie Last

Men’s Road (five to ride)

Mark Cavendish, Steve Cummings, Chris Froome, Jeremy Hunt, David Millar, Ian Stannard, Ben Swift, Bradley Wiggins

Women’s Road (four to ride)


Lizzie Armitstead, Nicole Cooke, Katie Colclough, Sharon Laws, Lucy Martin, Emma Pooley