British road world’s team named

Cavendish, Millar, Wiggins, Cooke, Pooley feature in strong squad

Advertisement MPU article

British Cycling has named its team for the road world championships in Mendrisio, Switzerland between 23-27 September.

On the men’s side, the squad includes Mark Cavendish, winner of numerous races this year, David Millar, who won the final time trial stage of the Tour of Spain but will target the road race in Mendrisio, and British time trial champion Bradley Wiggins, who will bid for the world time trial championship.

The women’s squad is just as strong, with defending road race champion Nicole Cooke being joined by world cup winner Emma Pooley in the team. Pooley will also race the time trial alongside Wendy Houvenaghel.

The U23 team will be headed by Peter Kennaugh in the road race and Alex Dowsett in the time trial.

Nicole cooke and emma pooley will aim to win more medals at the road world’s in mendrisio: nicole cooke and emma pooley will aim to win more medals at the road world’s in mendrisio
AFP/Getty Images

The women’s team is headed by Nicole Cooke and Emma Pooley

Team roster

Elite Men’s Road Race (nine of the following to be chosen)

  • Mark Cavendish
  • Stephen Cummings
  • Russ Downing
  • Chris Froome
  • Roger Hammond
  • Dan Lloyd
  • David Millar
  • Ian Stannard
  • Ben Swift
  • Geraint Thomas

Elite Men’s Time Trial

  • Chris Froome
  • Bradley Wiggins

Elite Women’s Road Race

  • Lizzie Armitstead
  • Katie Colclough
  • Nicole Cooke
  • Nikki Harris
  • Sharon Laws
  • Lucy Martin
  • Emma Pooley

Elite Women’s Time Trial

  • Wendy Houvenaghel
  • Emma Pooley

Under 23 Men’s Road Race

  • Mark Christian
  • Peter Kennaugh
  • Jonny McEvoy
  • Luke Rowe
  • Erick Rowsell

Under 23 Men’s Time Trial

Advertisement MPU article
  • Alex Dowsett
  • Andy Fenn