British team dominate the track in Paralympics

12 titles, 11 new world records set

The Great Britain team have dominated the track cycling event at the Paralympics, currently taking place in Beijing.


Winning a total of 12 titles and coming away with 11 new world records, the Brits blew away the opposition, with only Australia putting up anything resembling a fight on what event organisers claim is one of the fastest tracks in the world.

Britain’s Darren Kenny was unstoppable winning three golds – in the Men’s Individual Pursuit (CP3), Men’s 1km Time Trial (CP3) and as part of the Men’s Team Sprint (LC1-4 CP3/4). Simon Richardson, Mark Bristow, Jody Cundy, Anthony Kappes and Aileen McGlynn all won two gold medals, smashing at least one world record each on their way to victory.

Australian Kieran Modra set a new world record and won a gold in the Men’s Individual Pursuit (B&VI 1-3). Chris Scott also struck gold in the Men’s Individual Pursuit for Australia by beating Japan’s Ishii Masashi by a slither. Michael Gallagher put a pause to the British national anthem when he demolished Germany’s Wolfgang Sacher in the final of the Men’s Individual Pursuit (LC1).

Britain’s Mark Bristow, usually more at home as a Team Sprint rider set a new world record time while taking gold in the Men’s 1km Time Trial (LC1). Meanwhile, Anthony Kappes and his pilot Barney Storey smashed the opposition in their Men’s Sprint (B&VI 1-3) and 1km Time Trial races, taking a double gold.

Aileen McGlynn and her pilot Ellen Hunter took the gold for Britain in both the Women’s 1km Time Trial (B&VI 1-3) and the Women’s Individual Pursuit (B&VI 1-3), wrecking the hopes of the Australian team of Lindy Hou and Toireasa Gallagher.

Sarah Storey joined the deluge of British gold winners on the last day, winning the Women’s Individual Pursuit (LC1-1/CP4) and knocking four seconds off the LC1 world record she set in the qualifying round. Jennifer Schuble of the USA won silver.

The British men’s team wrapped up the goldfest in the Men’s Team Sprint (LC1-4 CP3/4), beating surprise finalists China to make it 12 gold medals out of 12.

Other medal winners included Italy’s Paolo Vigano in the 1km Time Trial (LC3-4), as well as America’s Jennifer Schuble grabbing gold in the LC1-2/CP3 Time Trial, and Barbara Buchan beating Natalie Simanowski of Germany to win gold in the Women’s Individual Pursuit (LC3-4/CP3).

The Czech Republic, New Zealand and China all took medals home too, but Britain’s overwhelming dominance on the track can’t be overstated enough, and they’ll be hoping to translate victory on the track to the road event which takes place from Friday 12 September. 


For full results see