British time trial championships: Dowsett and Houvenaghel win

Sky go 1-2 in men; Shaw and Storey round out women's podium

Alex Dowsett (Team Sky) showed that he is on form ahead of the Tour of Britain when he won the Men’s British Time Trial Championship in Cambridgeshire on Sunday. Dowsett finished 19 seconds ahead of teammate Steve Cummings, despite having to have a bike change in the closing stages of the 29 mile event.


The men’s race caught the tail end of the wet weather that started during the junior and women’s event earlier in the day. Joe Perrett (Twenty3c-Orbea) set the fastest time of the early riders with 1.02.33 before Russell Hampton (Sigma Sport) went top of the leader board with 1.01.38.

Cummings was the first to go under the hour with 58.45 but there was no stopping Dowsett who took the title 58.26 (30.188 mph). Full time postman Matt Bottrill ( put in a superb performance to finish third in 1.00.14. Bottrill’s time was actually bettered by Michael Hutchinson (In-Gear Quickvit Trainsharp RT) by 6 seconds, however ‘Hutch’ was ineligible for a medal as he opted for Irish nationality this year.

Geraint Thomas (Team Sky) was a non-starter and it was left to Dowsett to be the last eligible rider out of the start gate.

“It was tough out there and the conditions and wet roads didn’t make it easy,” said Dowsett: “I am delighted to win today. I had an ankle problem after I won the London Nocturne event in June and had to have two and a half weeks completely off the bike. The injury was a worry when it happened by now it looks like the break may have done me some good. I thought I would be creeping in the tour of Denmark but I put in some pretty good results and finished fifth overall.”

Dowsett has not had the best of luck in major events. The Essex man was forced to change to his road bike during the under 23- World Time Trial Championships in 2010 when he rolled a tub while in medal contention.

“I had to swap bikes today around 6km from the finish when my armrest fell off. I seem to get mechanical problems on the big events.

“Riding with Team Sky has been great. I never expected to have been as competitive as I have been in my first year. I couldn’t be happier at the moment. I am on the long list for the World Championships but I am under no illusions about the competition for places. I would love to ride the time trial. I have had to change my focus a little bit towards being a good roadman. In the Olympics, the time trialist has to be in the road race team as well. I think I have a better chance of selection as part of Mark Cavendish’s road race team and then maybe I can ride in the time trial.

“Cancellara and Tony Martin have showed how you can improve with age and it would have suited me more to have the London Olympics in 2016.

Women: Houvenaghel powers to national championship

The women¹s podium julia shaw (, wendy houvenaghel (bike chain ricci), sarah storey (horizon fitness rt): the women¹s podium julia shaw (, wendy houvenaghel (bike chain ricci), sarah storey (horizon fitness rt)
Gerry McManus/

Julia Shaw (2nd), Wendy Houvenaghel (1st) and Sarah Storey (3rd)

Wendy Houvenaghel (Bike Chain Ricci) was crowned the Women’s British Time Trial Champion on Sunday 4th September. The 36-year-old from Londonderry finished nearly a minute faster Julia Shaw ( who took the silver medal ahead of Sarah Storey (Horizon Fitness RT).

Houvenaghel my be better known for her pursuit and team pursuit performances on the track but she has won the 10 and 25 mile British time trial titles between 2004 and 2006.

The women had the worst of the weather with wind and rain battering all the starters. Houvenaghel’s 27.48 mph ride was impressive on the rolling circuit with an additional long climb up to the finish.

“The conditions worked to my advantage,” said Houvenaghel: “I do a lot of training in Cornwall where I live now and those conditions are quite normal for me. I don’t have a lot of time to concentrate on time trial these days as most of my preparation is track orientated. The win today is very special for me and shows me where my form is at the moment. It also shows that I am a little more diverse and can ride on the road as well as the track.”

“I have a UCI 1.1 time trial event to ride in next week in France and then my track season begins and my Olympic Games campaign begins there.”


Elite men – 47.3km
1 Alex Dowsett (Sky Procycling) 0:58:26
2 Stephen Cummings (Sky Procycling) 0:00:19
3 Matthew Bottrill ( 0:01:48
4 Russell Hampton (Sigma Sport – Specialized) 0:02:12
5 Joseph Perrett (Twenty3c-Orbea) 0:02:18
6 Matt Clinton ( 0:03:07
7 Blake Pond (South Fork Racing) 0:03:43
8 Colin Parry (Wilier / 0:04:36
9 Seth Kay (DataTeamAllstars) 0:04:57
10 Tejvan Pettinger (SRI Chinmoy CT) 0:05:22
11 James Ratcliffe (Fred Williams Racing) 0:05:36
12 Alistair Robinson (Team Leslie Bike Shop) 0:06:00
13 Dean Robson (Somerset RC) 0:07:41
14 Luke Moseley (Climb on Bikes RT) 0:08:11
15 Thomas Weatherall (Cambridge University CC) 0:08:27
16 Tom Sexton (Welland Valley CC) 0:08:56
17 Matt Plews (Welland Valley CC) 0:12:21
18 Andrew Ilsley (Baines Racing Silvestone) 0:20:32
NE* Michael Hutchinson (In-Gear Quickvit Trainsharp RT) 0:01:42
DNF James Tucker (South Pennine RC)
DNF Mark Howard (PCH UK RT)
DNF Jerone Walters (LA FUGA – Sigma Sport)
DNF Phill Sykes (Sigma Sport – Specialized)
DNS Phil Ember (Kingston Whs)
DNS Tavis Walker (Cadence RT)
DNS Mark Hammond (Stourbridge Velo)
DNS David McLean (Meridiana Kamen Team)
DNS Adam Gascoigne (Pedal Power Loughborough)
DNS Rhys Payne (Porth & District CC)
DNS Geraint Thomas (Sky Procycling)
NE = Not eligible for a medal due to nationality
Elite women – 33.6km
1 Wendy Houvenaghel (Bike Chain Ricci) 0:45:38
2 Julia Shaw ( 0:00:54
3 Sarah Storey (Horizon Fitness RT) 0:01:23
4 Rebecca Romero (XRT – elmy Cycles) 0:03:02
5 Emma Trott (Nederland Bloeit) 0:03:49
6 Claire Newland (Welwyn Whs) 0:04:37
7 Ella Sadler-Andrews (Horizon Fitness RT) 0:04:38
8 Paula Moseley (Climb on Bikes RT) 0:05:35
9 Lynn Hamel (Herbalife/Wheelbase) 0:06:08
10 Nicola Juniper (Inverse/Cyclaim) 0:06:09
11 Rachael Elliott (Newbury RC) 0:06:14
12 Bronwen Ewing (Rye & District Wheelers CC) 0:06:37
13 Charlotte Easton (Look Mum No Hands!) 0:07:16
14 Lara Taylor (Velo Club Godalming & Haslemere) 0:08:03
15 Louise Day (Gabby Day CycleSport RT) 0:08:19
16 Suzanne Robinson (VC 10) 0:08:22
17 Alexandra Grzegorczyk (Leamington C & AC) 0:09:40
18 Clare Simon (iCycle) 0:10:15
19 Jemma Anderson (Rockingham Forest Whs) 0:10:18
20 Claire Waterfield (Welland Valley CC) 0:10:24
21 Sara Dias-Ayton (a3crg) 0:15:15
22 Susan Holiday (A5 Rangers CC) 0:29:32
23 Jane Grant (A5 Rangers CC) 1:09:32
DNF Jane Kilmartin (Cult Racing)
DNF Alexandra Laycock (Warwickshire RC)
DNF Rosie Armitage (Stratford-upon-Avon CC)
DNF Michelle King (Team Jewson-MI Racing-Thule-CNP)
DNS Elinor Thorogood (Ystwyth CC Clwb Beicio)
DNS Jacqueline Hobson (Warwickshire RC)
DNS Sarah Crisp (A5 Rangers CC)
DNS Sarah Byrne (Abergavenny RC)
DNS Lowri Bunn (Abergavenny RC)
DNS Sian Tovey (Dooley’s
DNS Sue Fenwick (Crest CC)

Originally published on Elite men and elite women.