Builth Wells mountain bike marathon this weekend

Plus UK Solo MTB Championships

The second round of the Chain Reaction Cycles MTB Marathon Series 2010 powered by the Mercedes-Benz Vito Sport takes place this weekend at Builth Wells, mid-Wales.


It’s a full weekend of two-wheeled action, kicking off with a road sportive offering a 53 mile short course and an 88 mile long course on Saturday morning.

CycleActive will also be taking Bespoke Skills Sessions where riders can improve their riding skills with one of the best mountain bike training companies in the world.

Sunday sees the start of the mountain bike marathons, which offer four different distances over some of the best natural trails in the UK – full (80km), middle (65km), half (50km) and mini (30km).   

Here’s a video from the first round of the marathon series, to whet your appetite:

CRC builth

Entry on the day is available for the road sportive and mountain bike marathons, for more information and to enter, head to the MTB Marathon Series website.

Saturday 22nd May also sees the inaugural UK Solo Mountain Bike Championships take place in Newcastleton, Scotland. A £4,000 prize pot is on offer for the top finishers on the 18km lap which has 1800ft of climbing.

24hour logo: 24hour logo

Here’s a list of the contenders, courtesy of Ian Leitch

Rob Dean

Team/Sponsors: Leisure Lakes

Results: Current Sleepless in the Saddle Champion, sub 20-Hour South Downs Double.

Mike Hall

Team/Sponsors: TBC

Results: 2nd Sleepless in The Saddle Solo 24 2009, 6th Muc-Off 8 2010, Elite classification Fred Whitton Challenge.

Steve Heading

Team/Sponsors: Whyte Bikes UK

Results: Bontrager 24 Solo Champion 2006, Bikeradar Live 12 Hour Champion 2009, Fastest ever Pennine Double, 3rd Fastest ever South Downs Double.

Rory Hitchens

Team/Sponsors: USE/Exposure Lights

Results: 27th World Championships 1988. British Team Rider XC and Downhill World Championships 1990. 3rd Dusk ‘Til Dawn 2006.

Josh Ibbett

Team/Sponsors:  Syncros Endurance

Results: Relentless 24 2009 Senior Champion, 3rd Bontrager 12 Solo2009, Bontrager Torchbearer Champion 2008, 2nd Dusk ‘til Dawn 2008

James Leavesley

Team/Sponsors: Genesis Bikes

Results: 3rd Mountain Mayhem 2009, Strathpuffer Champion, IditaBike Podium, 10 under the Ben, 2nd Bontrager 24 2006

Ian Leitch

Team/Sponsors: Independent Fabrication/Exposure/Cannondale/ClifBar

Results: Current South Downs Double Record Holder, Current Muc-Off 8 Champion, Current Gorrick 100 Champion, 2nd 24 Hours of Old Pueblo USA 2009, 2nd Mountain Mayhem 2008, 8th Elite 24 Hour World Champs 2007.

Matt Page

Team Sponsor: Wiggle/Focus/Exposure

Results: CurrentMountain Mayhem Champion, Current European Singlespeed Champion, Dusk ‘til Dawn Champion 2008, Sleepless in the Saddle Champion 2008, Bontrager 12-Hour Solo Champion 2008

Iain Payne

Team Sponsor: tbc

Results: 2nd Bontrager 24-Hour Solo 2009, South West Elite XC Champion 2009

Rich Rothwell

Team Sponsor: Exposure/Infinit Nutrition/Union Room

Results: Current World 24-Hour Age Group Champion, Current Kielder Challenge Champion, 3rd Mountain Mayhem 2008, 2nd Relentless 24 2008. Coast to Coast off-road in 28 hours.

Ant White

Team Sponsor: Exposure/KCNC/Skins/Mt Zoom Zoom

Results: Current 24 Hours of Old PuebloUSA Champion, Current Bontrager 24 Champion, 2-Time Mountain Mayhem Champion, 2007 Dusk ‘til Dawn Champion, Gorrick 100 Champion 2008.

Wildcards/Still to come

Corley Cycles’ John Fettis has shown sizzling early season form beating both Ant White and Matt Page at The Salisbury Plain Challenge. Super talented singlespeeder Matt Carr could be a joker in the pack and perhaps he may be joined by the powerhouse that is Singular’s Steve Webb? Craig Bowles could repeat the form that saw him beat both Page and White over 8 hours in 2008 or Torq’s James Lister the current Bontrager 12 Hour and Bristol 12 Hour Champion could be a great addition to the field and would certainly put the frighteners on the big guns.

The trophy for the uk solo mountain bike championship:

The winners’ trophy