CO calls week of USA Pro Cycling Challenge the “Colorado Cycling Holiday”

Governor proclaims honorary holiday

The week of the USA Pro Cycling Challenge now an honorary Colorado holiday

Following the announcement of the host cities for the 2012 USA Pro Cycling Challenge, Colorado Governor John Hickenlooper proclaimed the week of the race as the “Colorado Cycling Holiday.”


Governor Hickenlooper said that the spectators, economic activity, the caliber of the athletes, and the embodiment of Coloradans’ aspirations to be healthy as reasons for the proclamation.

Starting in 2012, the week of the race will be recognized statewide as an honorary holiday, a title that will carry through each year the event is held. “The USA Pro Challenge was an event that shined an international spotlight on Colorado,” said Hickenlooper in a prepared statement. “Any expectations we had for success were surpassed ten-fold.  We want race week each August to be known as Colorado Cycling Holiday to attract visitors from all over the world and to celebrate Colorado, good health and cycling.”

Colorado tourism director Al White presented the official proclamation bearing the Colorado state seal to CEO of the USA Pro Challenge Shawn Hunter at an event set to celebrate the host cities of the 2012 race. “This race means so much to us, and to know the USA Pro Cycling Challenge is being recognized and celebrated by people throughout the state is such an honor,” said Hunter. “Fans came out to watch the race in droves this past August and we hope that enthusiasm continues into 2012 and beyond.”

The 2011 event drew more than 1 million fans and produced US$83.5 million of economic activity in its inaugural year. The sophomore event will visit 12 host cities over the course of seven days from 20-26 August, 2012.

The host cities for the 2012 USA Pro Challenge include:

  • Monday, Aug. 20              Stage 1                 Durango – Telluride       
  • Tuesday, Aug. 21              Stage 2                 Montrose – Crested Butte/Mt. Crested Butte
  • Wednesday, Aug. 22      Stage 3                 Gunnison – Aspen
  • Thursday, Aug. 23            Stage 4                 Aspen – Beaver Creek/Vail Valley
  • Friday, Aug. 24                  Stage 5                 Breckenridge – Colorado Springs
  • Saturday, Aug. 25             Stage 6                 Golden – Boulder
  • Sunday, Aug. 26                Stage 7/ITT         Denver