CrossVegas: Driscoll and Compton top them all

10,000 watch the action in Las Vegas

Almost 10,000 spectators filled Desert Breeze Soccer Complex in Las Vegas for the third edition of CrossVegas, as Jamey Driscoll and Katie Compton captured the men’s and women’s Elite titles.


With nine nations represented in the men’s race alone, CrossVegas was the largest international field of cyclo-cross racers ever assembled in the U.S. But the anticipated international battle of America versus the world never developed.

Driscoll captured the Elite Men’s race in a final sprint to the line against breakaway companion Christopher Jones after the pair eluded chasers throughout the 60-minute race. The pair of Americans escaped from a group of favourites in the early minutes of the race.  

A chase group of six riders contested the final podium spot and American Jonathan Page took third.  

Three-time world champion Erwin Vervecken of Begium emerged as the strongest foreign rider with a fifth place finish in the largest cyclocross race in America, followed by Christian Heule of Switzerland, who suffered a last lap crash that ended his hopes of a podium place.  

U.S. National Champion and two-time CrossVegas winner Ryan Trebon finished sixth ending his hopes of remaining the only champion of event.

In a repeat of the 2008 CrossVegas podium, U.S. National Champion and the 2008 CrossVegas winner Katie Compton rolled away from the international field of women to build a lead of 89 seconds at the end of the 40-minute race. Czech rider Katerina Nash repeated her second place podium with Luna teammate Georgia Gould rounding out the third spot.

For a complete report with results and additional photos, visit for the Men’s and Women’s races.

Elite Men’s results

1 James Driscoll (USA) Cannondale/ 1:00:59  
2 Christopher Jones (USA) Champion System 0:00:04  
3 Jonathan Page (USA) Planet Bike 0:00:16  
4 Jeremy Powers (USA) Cannondale/ 0:00:17  
5 Erwin Vervecken (Bel) Revor Cycling Team    
6 Ryan Trebon (USA) Kona 0:00:20  
7 Todd Wells (USA) Specialized Factory Racing 0:00:25  
8 Christian Heule (Swi) Rendementhypo Cycling Team 0:00:35  
9 Barry Wicks (USA) Kona 0:01:05  
10 Ben Berden (Bel) Revor Cycling Team 0:01:08

Elite Women’s results

1 Katherine Compton (USA) Planet Bike 0:40:45  
2 Katerina Nash (Cze) Luna Chix 0:00:59  
3 Georgia Gould (USA) Luna Chix 0:01:10  
4 Kelli Emmett (USA) Giant Bicycles 0:01:14  
5 Mary McConneloug (USA) Team KENDA/Seven/NoTubes 0:02:17  
6 Susan Butler (USA) 0:02:20  
7 Helen Wyman (GBr) Kona 0:02:21  
8 Alison Powers (USA) Team Fuji 0:02:35  
9 Amy Dombroski (USA) RGM Watches – Richard Sachs – Radix 0:03:26  
10 Laura Van Gilder (USA) C3 Athletes Serving Athletes 0:03:28