CSC heads Tour of Britain teams

Three Tour de France squads to race in September


ProTour team CSC is top of the list of the 16 squads that will take part in the Tour of Britain between September 9th and 15th. The Danish outfit has good memories of its recent time in Britain, when star rider Fabian Cancellara won the Tour de France prologue and took the first yellow jersey in London.


Two other Tour teams, Agritubel and Barloworld, are also down to compete in the Tour of Britain. Barloworld experienced success in the Tour, with Robert Hunter and Juan Mauricio Soler winning stages and Soler also taking home the king of the mountains jersey. Barloworld will be one of five British teams in the race.

The Tour of Britain will start with a prologue in Crystal Palace on Sunday, September 9th. Over the following six days, it will cover 950 kilometres through the South of England, Somerset, the West Midlands, the North West and Yorkshire before finishing in Glasgow on Saturday, September 15th.

Team list: Agritubel, Barloworld, Chocolade Jacques – Topsport Vlaanderen, DFL – Cyclingnews – Litespeed, Duja – Tavira, Fuerteventura – Canarias, Navigators Insurance Cycling Team, Plowman Craven – Evans Cycles Racing, Rabobank (Continental),, Skil – Shimano, South – AIS, Team CSC, Team Great Britain, Team Konica Minolta, Tinkoff Credit Systems.

Race website:


Prologue – September 9th: Crystal Palace
Stage 1 – September 10th: Reading to Southampton
Stage 2 – September 11th: Yeovilton to Taunton
Stage 3 – September 12th: Worcester to Wolverhampton
Stage 4 – September 13th: Rotherham to Bradford
Stage 5 – September 14th: Liverpool to Kendal
Stage 6 – September 15th: Dumfries to Glasgow