First riders revealed for British Track Championships

Hoy and Pendleton to line up in Manchester next month

Chris Hoy and Jason Kenny are among the big names set to compete in Manchester

Advertisement MPU article

The first riders set to compete at the upcoming British National Track Championships have been revealed, with Chris Hoy, Victoria Pendleton and Jason Kenny all included in the line-up.

Running from 28 September to 2 October at Manchester Velodrome, the blue ribbon events begin on the Friday night, with the men’s keirin and scratch races, and the women’s points and sprint. Also due to take part are national road race champion Lizzie Armistead and Cath Wiggins, wife of multiple Olympic track champion Brad.

With the 2012 London Olympics less than a year away, the championships are a chance to see members of the UK’s Olympic squad competing against each other on home soil. Tickets are now on sale for the Friday evening, Saturday evening and Sunday sessions (Wednesday and Thursday are free).

With a maximum price of £8, they’re selling fast and it’s expected the velodrome’s 3,500-seat capacity won’t take long to be filled. The big names and races for Friday 30 September are shown below, with the full line-up for the whole weekend to be announced shortly. To buy tickets, click here.

Men’s keirin

  • Chris Hoy
  • Jason Kenny
  • Ross Edgar
  • Matt Crampton
  • Dave Daniel

Men’s scratch

  • Sam Harrison
  • Simon Yates
  • Eric Rowsall
  • Jonathan Mould 
  • Tom Moses
  • Joe Kelly
  • Mark Christian 

Women’s points

  • Lizzie Armitstead
  • Laura Trott
  • Cath Wiggins
  • Jo Rowsall
  • Kaite Colclough

Women’s sprint

Advertisement MPU article
  • Victoria Pendleton
  • Jess Varnish
  • Becky James