Leipheimer wins US road championships

Ends stellar year with stars and stripes jersey

Discovery's Levi Leipheimer (seen here in the Tour de France) is the new US road champion.

Levi Leipheimer (Discovery Channel) capped off the best year of his professional career on Sunday with a victory in the 109-mile road race at the 2007 USA Cycling Professional Championships.


Leipheimer held off a three-man chase group to claim his first-ever national road race title ahead of teammate and defending champion George Hincapie and Neil Shirley (Jittery Joe’s). Leipheimer, whose 2007 accomplishments also include an overall victory at the Amgen Tour of California in February, as well as a stage win and third-place overall finish at the Tour de France, finished one minute, 11 seconds ahead of a three-man chase group that also contained three-time U.S. professional champion Fred Rodriguez (Predictor-Lotto).

“2007 has been a dream come true for me,” Leipheimer said. “The Tour of California … I dreamed about that all winter and trained harder than I ever have before. Then, to go to Europe, stand on the podium in Paris and win a stage of the Tour de France, and then to come here to Greenville and be the U.S. champion, it was much more than I ever dreamed of.”

The victory all but assures Leipheimer the overall 2007 USA Cycling Professional Tour title with two events remaining – the inaugural Tour of Missouri, September 11-16 and the Tour de Leelanau in Traverse City, Michigan on July 16.



1 Levi Leipheimer (Discovery Channel) 4:22:19  
2 George Hincapie (Discovery Channel) 0:01:11  
3 Neil Shirley (Jittery Joe’s – Zero Gravity) 0:01:14  
4 Freddie Rodiguez (Predictor-Lotto) 0:01:18  
5 Danny Pate (Team Slipstream pb Chipotle) 0:01:29  
6 Shawn Milne (HealthNet pb Maxxis) 0:01:56  
7 Kirk O’bee (HealthNet pb Maxxis) 0:02:00  
8 Bobby Julich (Team CSC)    
9 Christopher Jones (Nerac)    
10 Burke Swindlehurst (Toyota – United) 0:02:04  
11 Jeffry Louder (HealthNet pb Maxxis) 0:02:08  
12 Tyler Hamilton (Tinkoff Credit Systems) 0:02:11  
13 Dan Bowman (Kelly Benefit Strategies / Medifast) 0:02:59  
14 Frank Pipp (HealthNet pb Maxxis) 0:03:04  
15 Ben Jacques-Maynes (Priority Health pb Bissell)    
16 Michael Grabinger (Succesfulliving.com pb Parkpre) 0:03:06  
17 Jake Rytlewski (Rite Aid)    
18 Phil Zajicek (Navigators Insurance) 0:03:07  
19 Andrew Bajadali (Jelly Belly) 0:03:14  
20 Chris Wherry (Toyota – United)    
21 Blake Caldwell (Team Slipstream pb Chipotle) 0:03:20  
22 Michael Creed (Team Slipstream pb Chipotle) 0:03:32  
23 Jonathan Patrick Mccarty (Team Slipstream pb Chipotle) 0:06:28  
24 David Rodriguez (Navigators Insurance) 0:07:23  
25 Doug Ollerenshaw (HealthNet pb Maxxis) 0:09:38  
26 Edward King (Priority Health pb Bissell)    
27 Jonathan Garcia (BMC)    
28 Justin England (Toyota – United)    
29 Jackson Stewart (BMC) 0:10:01  
30 Daniel Vaillancourt (Colavita Olive Oil-Sutter Home)    
DNF Tony Cruz (Discovery Channel)    
DNF John Devine (Discovery Channel)    
DNF Winston David (AEG Toshiba – Jetnetwork)    
DNF Alex Hagman (AEG Toshiba – Jetnetwork)    
DNF Bobby Sweeting (AEG Toshiba – Jetnetwork)    
DNF Eric Keim (AEG Toshiba – Jetnetwork)    
DNF Keith Norris (AEG Toshiba – Jetnetwork)    
DNF Scottie Weiss (AEG Toshiba – Jetnetwork)    
DNF Todd Henriksen (AEG Toshiba – Jetnetwork)    
DNF David Galvin (BMC)    
DNF Ken Hanson (BMC)    
DNF Chad Hartley (BMC)    
DNF Ian Mckissick (BMC)    
DNF Nathan Miller (BMC)    
DNF Scott Moninger (BMC)    
DNF Scott Nydam (BMC)    
DNF Jacob Rosenbarger (BMC)    
DNF Mike Sayers (BMC)    
DNF Adam Bergman (Colavita Olive Oil-Sutter Home)    
DNF Anthony Colby (Colavita Olive Oil-Sutter Home)    
DNF Andy Guptill (Colavita Olive Oil-Sutter Home)    
DNF Tyler Wren (Colavita Olive Oil-Sutter Home)    
DNF David Zabriskie (Team CSC)    
DNF Bradley White (Discovery Channel)    
DNF Matthew Crane (HealthNet pb Maxxis)    
DNF Timothy Johnson (HealthNet pb Maxxis)    
DNF Roman Kilun (HealthNet pb Maxxis)    
DNF John Murphy (HealthNet pb Maxxis)    
DNF Alex Candelario (Jelly Belly)    
DNF Michael Cody (Jelly Belly)    
DNF Brian Dziewa (Jelly Belly)    
DNF Brice Jones (Jelly Belly)    
DNF Michael Jones (Jelly Belly)    
DNF Bryce Mead (Jelly Belly)    
DNF Jeremy Powers (Jelly Belly)    
DNF Nick Reistad (Jelly Belly)    
DNF Timothy Henry (Jittery Joe’s – Zero Gravity)    
DNF Matt Shriver (Jittery Joe’s – Zero Gravity)    
DNF Thad Dulin (Jittery Joe’s – Zero Gravity)    
DNF Reid Mumford (Kelly Benefit Strategies / Medifast)    
DNF Jonathan Sundt (Kelly Benefit Strategies / Medifast)    
DNF Jesse Anthony (KodakGallery.com – Sierra Nevada)    
DNF Ben Raby (KodakGallery.com – Sierra Nevada)    
DNF Joshua Thornton (KodakGallery.com – Sierra Nevada)    
DNF Dan Timmerman (KodakGallery.com – Sierra Nevada)    
DNF Matt Cooke (Navigators Insurance)    
DNF Bernard Van Ulden (Navigators Insurance)    
DNF Kyle Wamsley (Navigators Insurance)    
DNF Michael Wolf (Navigators Insurance)    
DNF Aidan Charles (Nerac)    
DNF Daniel Holt (Nerac)    
DNF Todd Yezefski (Nerac)    
DNF Graham Howard (Priority Health pb Bissell)    
DNF Omer Kem (Priority Health pb Bissell)    
DNF Robbie King (Priority Health pb Bissell)    
DNF Garrett Peltonen (Priority Health pb Bissell)    
DNF Morgan Schmitt (Priority Health pb Bissell)    
DNF Brian Sheedy (Priority Health pb Bissell)    
DNF Tom Zirbel (Priority Health pb Bissell)    
DNF Scott Zwizanski (Priority Health pb Bissell)    
DNF Clayton Barrows (Rite Aid)    
DNF Ryan Dewald (Rite Aid)    
DNF Michael Norton (Rite Aid)    
DNF Curtis Gunn (Succesfulliving.com pb Parkpre)    
DNF Daniel Ramsay (Succesfulliving.com pb Parkpre)    
DNF Steven Cozza (Team Slipstream pb Chipotle)    
DNF Jason Donald (Team Slipstream pb Chipotle)    
DNF Timothy Duggan (Team Slipstream pb Chipotle)    
DNF Lucas Euser (Team Slipstream pb Chipotle)    
DNF Michael Friedman (Team Slipstream pb Chipotle)    
DNF William Frischkorn (Team Slipstream pb Chipotle)    
DNF Charles Bradley Huff (Team Slipstream pb Chipotle)    
DNF Michael Lange (Team Slipstream pb Chipotle)    
DNF Ian Macgregor (Team Slipstream pb Chipotle)    
DNF Thomas Peterson (Team Slipstream pb Chipotle)    
DNF Christopher Baldwin (Toyota – United)