MTB World Cup #1: Greg Minnaar and Tracy Hannah top downhill podium

Brief report and photos from Pietermaritzburg

For full results, reports and photos of the MTB World Cup, visit


Men: Minnaar wins downhill World Cup opener at home

Greg Minnaar (Santa Cruz Syndicate) delighted home crowds by winning the elite men’s downhill final at the UCI Mountain Bike World Cup in Pietermaritzburg on Sunday afternoon.

After clocking the fastest qualifying time, Minnaar also was fastest in the finals.

“I knew up top that I was behind. I made some stupid mistakes at the beginning and I had to make up as much as I could later. I just had to put my head down and go,” said Minnaar, who also noted how much he was helped by the cheering of locals.

“It was electric out there. It was so wild. When I jumped into the finish area, the crowd was just amazing.”

2011 World Cup winner Aaron Gwin (Trek World Racing) finished second ahead of Mick Hannah (Hutchinson United Ride).


1 Greg Minnaar (RSA) Santa Cruz Syndicate 0:03:57.980
2 Aaron Gwin (USA) Trek World Racing 0:00:00.632
3 Michael Hannah (Aus) Hutchinson United Ride 0:00:00.994
4 Gee Atherton (GBr) GT Factory Racing 0:00:01.303
5 Steve Smith (Can) Devinci Global Racing 0:00:04.384
6 Jared Graves (Aus) Yeti Fox Shox Factory Race Team 0:00:04.436
7 Andrew Neethling (RSA) Giant Factory Off-Road Team 0:00:04.800
8 Troy Brosnan (Aus) Monster Energy-Specialized 0:00:05.017
9 Julien Camellini (Fra) 0:00:05.604
10 Cédric Gracia (Fra) CG Racing Brigade 0:00:05.674
11 Samuel Hill (Aus) Monster Energy-Specialized 0:00:05.836
12 Nick Beer (Swi) Devinci Global Racing 0:00:05.894
13 Aurélien Giordanengo (Fra) Topcycle By Trek 0:00:06.064
14 Neko Mulally (USA) Trek World Racing 0:00:06.327
15 Steve Peat (GBr) Santa Cruz Syndicate 0:00:07.670
16 Fabien Cousinie (Fra) Hutchinson United Ride 0:00:07.674
17 Justin Leov (NZl) Trek World Racing 0:00:08.579
18 Marc Beaumont (GBr) GT Factory Racing 0:00:08.874
19 Brook Macdonald (NZl) MS Mondraker Team 0:00:09.036
20 Brendan Fairclough (GBr) Scott11 0:00:09.212

Women: Hannah wins her first race back on the downhill World Cup circuit

Tracey hannah (hutchinson united ride) on her winning ride : tracey hannah (hutchinson united ride) on her winning ride
Rob Jones

Australian Tracy Hannah (Hutchinson United Ride) marked a successful return to World Cup racing after four years away by winning the elite women’s downhill.

“I’m extraordinarily satisfied. I did heaps of training and I’m so exhausted. I can’t believe it. It’s amazing,” she said.

Junior world champion Manon Carpenter (Madison Saracen Downhill Team) finished second ahead of Emmeline Ragot (MS Mondraker Team) in third.



1 Tracey Hannah (Aus) Hutchinson United Ride 0:04:33.806
2 Manon Carpenter (GBr) Madison Saracen Downhill Team 0:00:00.949
3 Emmeline Ragot (Fra) MS Mondraker Team 0:00:02.810
4 Jill Kintner (USA) Team Norco International 0:00:08.492
5 Miriam Ruchti (Swi) SC-Intense 0:00:10.896
6 Emilie Siegenthaler (Swi) Scott11 0:00:11.402
7 Anita Molcik (Aut) 0:00:12.123
8 De Souza Oliveira (Bra) 0:00:14.385
9 Petra Bernhard (Aut) Alpine Commencal Austria 0:00:15.112
10 Myriam Nicole (Fra) Commencal / Riding Addiction 0:00:17.275
11 Mio Suemasa (Jpn) 0:00:18.065
12 Fionn Griffiths (GBr) 0:00:18.557
13 Harriet Rucknagel (Ger) 0:00:27.356
14 Martina Bruehlmann (Swi) 0:00:28.002
15 Caroline Sax (Fra) Team Lac Blanc / Solid / Batibois Alsace 0:00:33.423
16 Gabriela Williams (Cze) CG Racing Brigade 0:00:34.377
17 Zarja Cernilogar (Slo) 0:00:46.668
18 Tamara Maria Ulrich (Aut) 0:01:24.564
DNS Floriane Pugin (Fra) Scott11
DNS Sabrina Jonnier (Fra) Labyrinth Shimano Racing Team