Red Bull Rampage returns this weekend

Insane invite-only freeride comp

The Red Bull Rampage takes place this weekend in Virgin, Utah where the world’s top gravity riders will ride some of the biggest, most dangerous mountain bike trails in the world.


An international line-up including Gee Atherton, Darren Berrecloth, Cedric Gracia, Jamie Goldman and Kurt Sorge will hit the pre-built obstacles, as well as lines they’ve created themselves in the run-up to the competition.

Qualifying takes place today, with 23 riders competing for 10 spots into Sunday’s Final, where they’ll join 12 pre-qualified riders:

  • Graham Agassiz (Canada)
  • Gee Atherton (United Kingdom)
  • Darren Berrecloth (Canada)
  • Robbie Bourdon (Canada)
  • Cedric Gracia (France)
  • Mike Hopkins (Canada)
  • Mike Kinrade (Canada)
  • Michal Marosi (Czech Republic)
  • Kurt Sorge (Canada)
  • Kyle Strait (USA)
  • Thomas Vanderham (Canada)
  • Cameron Zink (USA)

[Pre-qualified riders Brandon Semenuk, Cam McCaul and Paul Basagoitia withdrew prior to the event due to injury]

Organisers say that this year’s Rampage is going to have bigger and better obstacles and features than before, with improved transitions. “We learned from some of the stuff that didn’t quite work as well as anticipated in 2008 – we just tweaked it and made it better,” says event director Todd Barber.

Logan binggeli rides the oakley icon sender:
Christian Pondella

Logan Binggeli rides the Oakley Icon Sender

Highlights will include the treacherous 60ft canyon gap, which has a steeper transition and step-up landing to allow for more tricks. Oakley’s Icon Sender is a drop chute which will launch riders 30ft out and 40ft down to the landing. A mistake on this is likely to result in horrific consequences.

The riders, who have a mix of downhill racing, slopestyle and dirt jump backgrounds, will be judged on style, fluidity and creativity as they take on the course.

Spain’s Andreu Lacondeguy, who is riding the Rampage for the first time this year, said: “This place is amazing. It’s for sure different than any other place I’ve ridden, way different than anything back home.”

We’ll bring you results, pictures and video from the event.

Riders taking part in today’s qualifying are:

  • Ryan Berrecloth (Canada)
  • Logan Binggeli (USA)
  • Garett Buehler (Canada)
  • James Doerfling (Canada)
  • Antoine Dubourgnon (France)
  • Jamie Goldman (USA)
  • Yannick Granieri (France)
  • Casey Groves (Canada)
  • Geoff Gulevich (Canada)
  • Andreu Lacondeguy (Spain)
  • Tyler McCaul (USA)
  • Kelly McGarry (New Zealand)
  • Mike Montgomery (USA)
  • Kyle Norbraten (Canada)
  • Alex Prochazka (Canada)
  • Steve Romaniuk (Canada)
  • Curtis Robinson (Canada)
  • Evan Schwartz (Canada)
  • Kenny Smith (Canada)
  • Andrew Taylor (USA)
  • Chris Van Dine (USA)
  • Greg Watts (USA)
  • Wil White (USA)