Tour of California announces 2009 route

800 miles, 16 host cities in 9 days

The 2009 Amgen Tour of California will be expanded to include stops in 16 host cities over the course of nine days from February 14-22.  The event’s fourth running will be expanded to cover more than 800 miles over the nine days.  


Traveling almost the entire length of California, the race will begin in the state’s capital, Sacramento, and end in San Diego County (a new addition to the race) with a finish in Escondido on February 22. Also for the first time, the riders will cross the Golden Gate Bridge at the beginning of Stage 3.

The 16 official stage start and finish cities that have been selected for the 2009 race include eight new locales – Davis, Santa Cruz, Merced, Clovis, Visalia, Paso Robles, Rancho Bernardo and Escondido – that will join Sacramento, Santa Rosa, Sausalito, San Jose, Modesto, Solvang, Santa Clarita and Pasadena as host cities along the route.  

Beginning with a road stage (a first for the race), which both starts and ends in Sacramento, through the grand finale in Escondido, the 2009 race will visit 16 host cities for official stage starts and finishes, while other cities along the route also will have the opportunity to witness the excitement of elite professional cycling. Stages for the 2009 Amgen Tour of California include:

    * Stage 1: Saturday, Feb. 14 – Sacramento

    * Stage 2: Sunday, Feb. 15 – Davis to Santa Rosa

    * Stage 3: Monday, Feb. 16 – Sausalito to Santa Cruz

    * Stage 4: Tuesday, Feb. 17 – San Jose to Modesto

    * Stage 5: Wednesday, Feb. 18 – Merced to Clovis

    * Stage 6: Thursday, Feb. 19 – Visalia to Paso Robles

    * Stage 7: Friday, Feb. 20 – Solvang (individual time trial)

    * Stage 8: Saturday, Feb. 21 – Santa Clarita to Pasadena

    * Stage 9: Sunday, Feb. 22 – Rancho Bernardo to Escondido


For more information, visit