US reveal squad for Mountain Bike World Championships

53-strong team going to Mont-Sainte-Anne

US rider Aaron Gwin in action at this year's second World Cup round in Fort William, Scotland

USA Cycling are sending 53 riders to the 2010 UCI Mountain Bike & Trials World Championships in Mont-Sainte-Anne, Quebec at the start of September.

Advertisement MPU article

The cross-country squad is headed by reigning national champion, and winner of the 2010 USA Cycling Pro XCT, Todd Wells (Specialized), and includes the likes of Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski (Subaru-Trek), Adam Craig (Rabbobank-Giant Offroad Team) and Carl Decker (Giant).

Women’s national champ Georgia Gould (Luna) is also on the team, along with World Cup riders such as Willow Koerber (Subaru-Trek), Katie Compton (Planet Bike) and Mary McConneloug (Kenda-Seven-NoTubes).

On the downhill side of things, national champ Aaron Gwin (Yeti-Fox Shox Factory Race Team) is joined by riders including Kyle Strait and Duncan Riffle (Giant). Jill Kintner heads the women’s squad, which includes Melissa Buhl (KHS) and Leigh Donovan (Intense).

Interestingly, Kintner will not be competing in four-cross, despite having won three consecutive gold medals between 2005 and 2007. The only female team member is Neven Steinmetz (Ellsworth Bikes) – national champ but relatively unknown outside the US. The men’s team is led by Ross Milan (Yeti) and includes Mitch Ropelato, fresh from his dual slalom success at Crankworx.

The 2010 UCI Mountain Bike World Championships take place from 31 August – 5 September. Here’s the full US team roster:


  • Aaron Gwin (Elite)
  • Luke Strobel (Elite)
  • Kyle Strait (Elite)
  • Logan Binggeli (Elite)
  • Tyler Immer (Elite)
  • Brad Benedict (Elite)
  • Duncan Riffle (Elite)
  • Jill Kintner (Elite)
  • Melissa Buhl (Elite)
  • Jacqueline Harmony (Elite)
  • Leigh Donovan (Elite)
  • Sam Powers (Junior)
  • Bryson Martin (Junior)
  • Neko Mulally (Junior)
  • Mitch Ropelato (Junior)
  • Nate Furbee (Junior)
  • Evan Powell (Junior)
  • Trevor Trinkino (Junior)
  • Kelsey Anderson (Junior)


  • Ross Milan
  • Barry Nobles
  • Mitch Ropelato
  • Blake Carney
  • Neven Steinmetz


Advertisement MPU article
  • Todd Wells (Elite)
  • Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski (Elite)
  • Adam Craig (Elite)
  • Sam Schultz (Elite)
  • Michael Broderick (Elite)
  • Carl Decker (Elite)
  • Spencer Paxson (Elite)
  • Georgia Gould (Elite)
  • Willow Koerber (Elite)
  • Katie Compton (Elite)
  • Mary McConneloug (Elite)
  • Heather Irmiger (Elite)
  • Kelli Emmett (Elite)
  • Allison Mann (Elite)
  • Tad Elliott (U23)
  • Rob Squire (U23)
  • Russell Finsterwald (U23)
  • Stephen Ettinger (U23)
  • Jack Hinkens (U23)
  • Mitch Hoke (U23)
  • Sage Wilderman (U23)
  • Lydia Tanner (U23)
  • Skyler Truijillo (Junior)
  • Zach Valdez (Junior)
  • Seth Kemp (Junior)
  • Tony Smith (Junior)
  • Will Curtis (Junior)
  • Alicia Rose Pastore (Junior)
  • Sofia Hamilton (Junior)
  • Essence Barton (Junior)