MTB World Cup Eliminator #3: Wins for Lüthi and Rissveds

Full results and report from La Bresse, France

Men: Patrick Lüthi too good


This article was originally published on

Switzerland’s Patrick Lüthi started his World Cup career in the best possible way – winning the third round of the eliminator World Cup in La Bresse, France. Held in the streets of the host village, the French community embraced the event, with spectators lining the course that took riders along narrow footpaths, through a church yard and down a set of stairs that proved to be the most serious obstacle of the day, causing a number of crashes.

Round one winner Brian Lopes was one of the strong favourites for the men’s race, since the tight, technical course suited the skills of the former four cross world champion. Lopes qualified second, behind Miha Halzer (, with Lüthi qualifying fourth. They were joined in the final by Stefan Peter (MTB Kader Zentralschweiz).

Brian lopes (ibis) collapsed after the finish:
Rob Jones/

Lopes after the finish

Peter got the hole shot at the first corner, when Lopes and Halzer both had poor starts. The American moved up to third, behind Lüthi, but was thwarted in his attempt to move up to second in the corner following the stair descent. However, Lüthi was successful in overtaking Peter just before the ramp descent and held on for the win ahead of Peter, with Lopes rolling in third. Paul van der Ploeg (Felt Oetztal X-Bionic) was the top Australian, finishing 12th.

“It is just unbelievable to win my first World Cup,” said Lüthi. “I never thought I would be in this place. I thought it might be difficult to qualify and now I am here … just unbelievable. I think it is very hard, this race. The winner could have been anyone. It is just great to be the one.”

Women: Rissveds, Engen and Stirnemann take honours

This article was originally published on

Jenny rissveds (sweden) wins:
Rob Jones/

Seventeen-year-old junior Jenny Rissveds of Sweden took the biggest win of her career in round three of the eliminator World Cup, beating countrywoman and mentor Alexandra Engen (Ghost). Held in the streets of the host village La Bresse, the French community embraced the event, with spectators lining the course.

The 725-metre course started on the main street of La Bresse, before cutting across a river via a footbridge, and over a steep bridge. From there the riders headed up a small climb to a church yard, where they hit what proved to be the biggest obstacle of the race – a set of stairs in front of the church that led to a number of crashes and flat tires when riders hit the base of the stairs too hard. After a few tight turns through narrow streets, the riders then went down a narrow ramp and into the town square, before circling around the end and hitting one final corner before the sprint to the line.

In the women’s final, Rissveds was joined by Engen, Kathrin Stirnemann (Sabine Spitz Haibike) and Australia’s Rowena Fry. Not making the final were favourites Anneke Beerten (Milka-Superior), who flatted while leading her semi-final race, and Great Britain’s Tracy Moseley, who crashed hard in her semi-final.

Rissveds had a very strong start in the final, hitting the turn to the footbridge first, just ahead of Engen. The two Swedish riders then held off Stirnemann to take the top spots, with Fry rolling in fourth.

Rissveds screamed as she crossed the finish line, ecstatic at her win. “It is awesome to win this race. It was very hard, I tried to take the lead at start because it was important to be very tough and be first through the first corner. Then it was just to to stay ahead to the finish. It is awesome to have two Swedish riders on the podium. Alexandra (Engen) means a lot to me. She has taught me very much.”



Big Final
1 Patrick Lüthi (Swi)
2 Stefan Peter (Swi) MTB Kader Zentralschweiz
3 Brian Lopes (USA)
4 Miha Halzer (Slo)
Small Final
5 Alexis Vuillermoz (Fra) Lapierre International
6 Heiko Gutmann (Ger)
DNS Daniel Federspiel (Aut) Team
8 Simon Gegenheimer (Ger)
1/4 Finals
9 Mirco Widmer (Swi) Giant Swiss SR – Suntour
10 Titouan Perrin Ganier (Fra)
11 Gregor Raggl (Aut)
12 Paul Van Der Ploeg (Aus) Felt Oetztal X – Bionic Team
13 Jeremy Arnould (Fra)
14 Dennis Ebert (Ned)
15 Marek Konwa (Pol) Milka-Superior MTB Racing Team
16 Sepp Freiburghaus (Swi) Thoemus Racing Team
1/8 Finals
17 Lukas Loretz (Swi) Giant Swiss SR – Suntour
18 Martin Gluth (Ger)
19 Pascal Schmutz (Swi)
20 Nicola Rohrbach (Swi)
21 Fabrice Mels (Bel) Salcano Factory Team
22 Philip Buys (RSA)
23 Sergji Rysenko (Ukr) ISD MTB Team
24 Marcel Wildhaber (Swi) Scott – Swisspower MTB Racing Team
25 Lars Forster (Swi)
26 Jürg Graf (Swi) Bskgraf Rollmat-Koba MTB Team
27 Daniel Eymann (Swi) Thoemus Racing Team
28 Kevin Van Hoovels (Bel) Versluys Team
29 Johan Widen (Swe)
30 Robbert De Nijs (Ned) Giant Dealerteams
31 Javier Eduardo Puschel (Chi)
Big Final
1 Jenny Rissveds (Swe)
2 Alexandra Engen (Swe) Ghost Factory Racing Team
3 Kathrin Stirnemann (Swi) Sabine Spitz Haibike Team
4 Rowena Fry (Aus)
Small Final
5 Cécile Ravanel (Fra) GT Skoda Chamonix
6 Anneke Beerten (Ned) Milka-Superior MTB Racing Team
7 Maaris Meier (Est)
8 Tracy Moseley (GBr)
1/4 Finals
9 Anne Terpstra (Ned)
10 Chloe Woodruff (USA)
11 Eva Lechner (Ita) Colnago Sudtirol
12 Sabrina Maurer (Swi) Bskgraf Rollmat-Koba MTB Team
13 Ramona Forchini (Swi) MTB Kader Zentralschweiz
14 Pavla Havlikova (Cze)
15 Ana Zupan (Slo)
16 Joanna Petterson (USA)